We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Bombay Express

Bombay Express
Ranked #49 of 343 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bombay Express has been running for over 11 years in the English Riviera area, before Trip Advisor was a thing. I jest, we have the classic dishes as well as our own signature dishes. Fresh fish from the bay, and our own cocktails. The Indian Kitchen Fitter cocktail served in a light bulb is a firm favourite.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked a meal for a family get together there were 15 of use 7 from the states. I had spoken to the manager who arranged a set menu, which was popadomes to start then a selection of starters as some had never eaten Indian and wanted to try a variety of dishes. The main course was a selection of any of the curries and a few of the other dishes. The service was excellent and the staff took time to explain the dishes. The prices are great for 15 meals and drinks it was only £250 which in my book is a real good price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueTandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    126
    58
    29
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely indian meal”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We thought we would give the Bombay Express a go for a change.It was my wifes birthday and so with my son and his fiancee we had a lovely evening.The staff were welcoming and attentive.
The meals were very good,we will be back again soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice contemporary Indian”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at the TLH hotel nearby recently on a half board basis. After 2nd night of English food, was craving some spice! The Bombay Express was just up the road...how convenient!
Bombay Express is decorated in a modern style and careful decoration has ensured a restful colour scheme. We had 2 chicken dishes, one a chilli chicken, and the other a balti type dish. Both were rather red in colour, but were tasty with a good mix of spices. The chicken chunks were a good size and of good quality. Mushroom rice was nice and so were our naan breads.

When i first arrived and looked at the menu, I was shocked at he high prices! Then - noticed that rice was included with most dishes ( phew ), so actually the prices were average.

Overall, an enjoyable meal at a fair price. I will definitely return when next in Torquay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank currybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“a bit disorganised”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The food was good but the service a bit on and off.... They ran out of cider and offered no alternative (even though there is a bargin booze store a few doors down)
The staff didn't seem to listen when taking our order and me being a veggie nearly ended up with chicken tikka when i clearly said paneer tikka.
worth a walk up the hill to find it. It was only the service that let it down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank takmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've had”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

While on a four day break in Torquay, my wife and I decided to have an Indian meal for a change and were told by the staff in our hotel, that the Bombay Express, at 98 Belgrave Road, Torquay had an excellent reputation, with local people, so we took there advise and made our way there.
On our arrival we were greeted by smartly dressed, pleasant waiter, who asked us were we would prefer to sit and after choosing our table , we were presented with menus and asked if we required drinks, which we did , so while the waiter fetched our drinks we had a good look around the tablecloths , cutlery, carpets ,the general surroundings to make sure it was clean and it was immaculate,no dust or dirt to be seen anywhere.
For our meal we ordered , four papadoms for starters , a mixed tandoori main dish , a nan bread ,with the meal came a vegetable curry sauce and the pickle tray .The main meal, which really was for one person was a very generous portion ,which we shared, as we would not have been able to eat one each and we both agreed that it was one of the best Indian meals we had eaten, for taste, flavour and quality of content and we have eaten in many Indian restaurants over a period of forty years.
After finishing our meal, which only cost £18.00 altogether, the owner came and asked if everything was satisfactory, our reply was , excellent and if it hadn’t been we would have brought any problem to his attention. He told us that he wants to satisfy all his customers every time, because he wants them to return on a regular basis and anyone who has a complaint , please do tell him and he will try to put it right , but please don’t be aggressive as it not necessary.
Obviously we haven’t tried all of the menu, but we will go again if we are in Torquay and I’m sure you won’t be disappointed if you go.

Marvin H

Sheffield

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Express also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bombay Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing