We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views from terrace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff Railway Cafe

Cliff Railway Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open 364 days a year serving freshly cooked breakfast, lunch, homemade cakes and scones. Ice cream kiosk open all year with 22 flavours of icecream and milkshakes available. Uninterrupted views over Lyme Bay from floor to ceiling windows and a panoaramic view from our outside terrace. All meals are cooked to order and we use fresh locally sourced ingredients.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful views from terrace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A good food selection of tasty food including daily hot specials (on the blackboard) and snacks such as baguettes. Delicious home made cakes and pastries - don't miss the cherry scones! Snuggle inside the cosy café if the wind is a bit chilly or relax on the sun terrace with views over Torbay. This café is wonderfully situated high on the cliffs at Babbacombe next to the entrance to the cliff lift which will take you down to the beach and back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    102
    26
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cliff Railway Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We didn't actually go into the café ,but passed it on our way down to the Beach.Via the Clifftop Railway,go on their! Its a long drop otherwise to the Beach!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeffripton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scrummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I went to the Cliff Railway with a friend for a light bite. The menu had extensive choice of paninni's, sandwiches and baguettes. The counter was full of delicious cakes too. Maybe when you have eaten and admired the views over Torbay, on your way out take a peek at the cabinet full of delicious ice cream. Will be enjoying the food there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Went today with a friend for lunch . I had a crab sandwich which was lovely and tasty . ,
My friend had a tuna bagette.great service , reasonably priced , and the ice cream cone for pud
Was delicious . Will be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and lovely view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Thank you for the lovely food we had during our week's stay in Babbacombe.

The view of the sea was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff Railway Cafe also viewed

Teignmouth, Devon
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Cliff Railway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing