We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Experience”
Review of Cary Arms & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cary Arms & Spa
Ranked #19 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

From beginning to end, the staff at the Cary Arms were faultless in helping us prepare for our wedding. Nothing was too much trouble and their genuine enthusiasm and participation were very much appreciated. The Gastro Getaway package was excellent value and the inclusion of taxis to and from the Elephant made the evening even more relaxing. The room, catering and service were all to a high standard and we look forward to returning. The Cary Arms will always have a very special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: The Fleet Admiral on the upper floor had unrivalled views and was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It was an absolute pleasure to be involved in your special day. The whole team had fun and with the perfect weather it really did add to the sparkle of the day. Thank you for choosing The Cary Arms, we wish you a wonderful first year of marriage and hope to see you again very soon.

Fliss Crosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    137
    33
    17
    9
See reviews for
177
463
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a lovely weekend! The staff are all so friendly and helpful. It was a lovely touch to find a complimentary half bottle of champagne on ice! We found the kitchen area really useful. The fod was superb throughout - especially breakfast! The location is fabulous - this is our second visit and there will definitely be more!

Room Tip: The Captains suite is fabulous for 2 friends sharing and really good value on the winter tariff and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for letting us know you had a good stay at The Cary Arms and I'm pleased you enjoyed your Champagne.
I hope we will be welcoming you back again in the near future.

Fliss Crosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had just one night at the Cary Arms, but right from the beginning we knew we would come back. The room was perfect (Rear Admiral) with stunning views, a generous decanter of sloe gin in the room, well-equipped bathroom and everything you could possibly want - including friendly and helpful staff. The supper included the very best mussels we had ever eaten - and we have eaten a lot! Breakfast was also good - though you need to be there before 10.00 as they were clearing up and had run out of a few bits....our fault for having too long a lie-in! A truly gorgeous spot and a well thought out hotel, designed by someone who knows that it is the little touches that matter and a delightful staff who combined discreet professionalism with a laid back friendliness.

Room Tip: Rear Admiral had beautiful views and its own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetMothership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some lovely feedback. I'm so pleased that your 1 night with us delivered a memorable stay for you.
We are a friendly team and nothing is too much trouble for us! On that note I would like to just mention that it is perfectably fine to come down for breakfast at 10 at leisure and there should still be plenty of everything available. I have encouraged the team to be sensitive towards this. Thank you for mentioning this as I will re brief the team to make sure the buffet is topped up to the full until every guest has finished a relaxing breakfast.
I hope it won't be too long before we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Cary Arms.
Thanks again.
Fliss Crosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goonhavern, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

nice old pub right on the waterfront with a lovely view across the bay. it fees like an Oasis from the rat race.

good points: Service is relaxed and unstuffy - in my opinion just right. the vibe is chilled. The food is excellent - i am pretty fussy And it Was the best i've eaten out in recent memory.

Not so good: the walls between our room and neighbours was THIN - we could hear the guy in the next room snoring all night and his dog growling. It didn't keep me awake but my partner struggled and found it difficult to sleep. to be fair i guess you wouldn't notice if you had a quiet neighbour! equally not all the rooms mate have sex in walls we had one call the "rear admiral". the surrounding area (within walking distance at least) is not particularly interesting as it mainly consists of Torquay's urban sprawl. there are some pretty coves to explore Right down the waterline.

OveraLl we enjoyed it. It was expensive but i would return after i have saved up a bit -:) next time i will definitely ask for A quietet a room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback.
I'm pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. I am surprised to hear that you were able to hear your neighbours snoring! I haven't come accross this being mentioned before and the majority of our guests mention that they have had a peaceful and tranquil nights sleep. Maybe you had particularly loud guests next door. I do hope this won't put you off returning and we could certainly locate you in a different room!
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Cary Arms in the future.
Fliss Crosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lovely views of sea, terrace to have breakfast and supper. Clean and very good sheets. Bit of a steep hike up the road after dinner so would choose cottage near to the pub. Sandy beach about half an hour away.

Room Tip: Rose cottage very good but short steep hike up the road after dinner so would choose a cottage neare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a fairly steep hill and many of our guests enjoy a walk with their dogs up the incline however some guests do prefer the more gentle less steep area surrounding the cottages immediately to the right of The Inn. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to our Beach Cottage on another occasion.
We do have The Cary Arms cube now available to chauffeur guests up the hill!
Many thanks again.
Fliss Crosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a great stay at the Cary Arms.
We booked the Fleet Admiral room which has a fantastic balcony. (The lock on the door however was not engaging so had the weather allowed sitting out it would have been a pain. It is being fixed though).
The Sunday sleepover is very good value. In the F. A. room afternoon tea, a glass of fizz, 3 unrestricted courses for dinner and a fantastic breakfast is £240.
This was a ' just because' treat for my husband who felt very spoilt. He is a real ale fan and the hotels website suggests Otter ale plus at least one other is always on. Unfortunately not this weekend. Only one frankly mediocre handpull ale (although draft ciders and larger style beer available).
The food was excellent and I am very fussy. I don't feel the menu is in anyway overpriced and like that the very good Shaldon suppliers are listed.
Hot water bottle turndown a treat also.
So why 4.5?
I'm being picky.
On arrival we were totally blanked by the lady on reception although she was pleasent enough when checking us in.
The faulty lock in the room should have been picked up and fixed along with the colony of ceiling cobwebs.
The shower was rubbish, temperature temperamental and if you try to adjust the height it falls off.
This is picky and only commented on as it is 5 star accommodation. We would not hesitate to stay here again and next time would stay for longer. The service on the whole was very friendly.
Reviews are always subjective but the comments / impressions by a previous regular patron were not shared by us.


Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bollybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I do take on board all your points and a few little things that you mentioned should have been sorted. We did have a problem with the balcony doors swelling with the recent weather and they have now been adjusted and fixed. The real ale situation was unfortunate. We had a run on the ale and 2 had run out simultaneously. When an order arrives due to the nature of the ale, the keg needs to settle for a few hours first, hence a delay in being able to serve it. We normally have 2 or 3 on during the winter months and 4 in the summer. I appreciate that if you are a real ale drinker then this was disappointing. I'm sorry to hear that a member of the team ignored you, I hope it wasn't intentional and just a busy moment, I'm pleased this was rectified. The team are very friendly and we pride ourselves on our customer service along with our Gastro food. Thank you for mentioning your appreciation of the quality of the dinner.
I really look forward to welcoming you back to The Cary Arms in the future and sincerely hope you will notice any niggles have been ironed out next time you are here and you feel we deserve the 5 stars next time.
Thanks again.

Fliss Crosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Have just returned from an impromptu trip to the Carey arms.
The location is fantastic despite the slightly daunting steep hill to the car park.
The service is exceptional and of a standard rarely found these days.Even the young guys who carried our bags to the car were charming.
The rooms are very comfortable and the balcony is worth the extra cost. There is also a very relaxing residents lounge ideal for after dinner drinks or a sneaky snooze in the afternoon !
The icing on the cake had to be the quality of the food . The restaurant has to be as good as anywhere I have eaten in recent times ..including some very impressive London eateries. The wine list is very well constructed and the real ales are well looked after.
If there is a negative and it is almost irrelevant ..you don't need an offensive looking tv screen with a Magic fm logo on it in the middle of a very nice looking bar Mr D S !
I can't finish without returning to the fantastic staff from the management to the bubbly beauty therapist . Everyone we encountered we are credit to the establishment ..well done

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback. It's very encouraging to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us at The Cary Arms.
The team are very friendly and we pride ourselves on offering great customer service. It's nice for the staff to feel appreciated and very motivating for the whole team.
I sincerely hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Thanks again.
Fliss Crosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,887 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,045 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Arms & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Arms & Spa

Property: Cary Arms & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cary Arms & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic, boutique 5 star inn privately owned and managed by the de Savary family in the unrivalled location of Babbacombe Bay. There are 10 contemporary, New-England style bedrooms and suites with outstanding sea-view, 6 newly launched Beach Huts and 2 Beach Suites plus 3 restored fisherman's cottages for rental.All have excellent sea views with outdoor decks, balconies or gardens. The atmosphere is luxuriously relaxing and friendly. Head Chef, Ben Kingdon and his team serve the very best of creative, English heritage dishes focusing on local, seasonal ingredients in an informal and relaxed setting. Hearty breakfasts, long lunches and lazy suppers indoors or out on the sun-terraces. Sheltering in its own unsung part of the South Devon Coast, the English Riviera, the inn is accessible by water and has its own moorings. A new Spa with indoor pool and hydrotherapy, experience showers, sauna and treatment rooms will supplement the existing treatment room from October 2016. (check for opening dates). Dog and family friendly. The inn is perfect for those looking for a luxurious and private getaway. It will blow the cobwebs away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cary Arms & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cary Arms Hotel Torquay
Cary Arms & Spa Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing