We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blazing Logs & Lazing Dogs”
Review of Cary Arms & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cary Arms & Spa
Ranked #19 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blazing Logs & Lazing Dogs”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

yet another fantastic week at the Cary Arms, Jen and the team are simply the best nothing is to much trouble, the service, food, cottages, are just perfect for the most relaxing and enjoying stay without being over the top, just perfect.

Room Tip: The Cottage's are a perfect and relaxing base
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryLucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    130
    33
    15
    8
See reviews for
170
451
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Love the view from this gem of a pub. A real find. Perfect rump steak sandwich and thin fries. Friendly and efficient staff. Only slight disappointment was the cheese board. Didn't stay at the hotel but had to rate rooms in order to post review.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We just returned from a great 4 days. Good location, rooms and food, but above all, I have to praise the service. A young and cheerful team, they 'get it' like many 5 star hotel staff fail to. Relaxed yet efficient, with more smiles than you can count and a natural and engaging demeanour - it really is a team that many could learn from, and it's effortless execution is well led by Jen.
Dog friendly, they combine local patronage with upscale tourists nicely in the indoor and outdoor spaces. The atmoshpere thoughout is perfect.
We ventured out one night to the bright lights of Torquay but couldn't wait to return to the haven that the Cary Arms provides.
..had a great massage in the small but effective spa, too.

Room Tip: For dog owners they have 2-3 rooms that are on the ground floor with a small deck/patio and 50 feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beacon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Just returned from two days of bliss at The Cary Arms. The Sunday Sleepover was a present from my niece and her husband to my husband for his 60th. Having spent one night we couldn't help ourselves and booked also for the Monday night. The surroundings, the views, the interior and exterior of the hotel is outstanding. The bed linen is to die for. The food and very reasonably priced wines outstanding.
We stayed in the Commodore room with its own verandah and French windows. Lovely little touches like leaving a hot water bottle in the bed. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff are delightful. From the moment we arrived everything was ease and comfort. lovely chap helped my husband with bags (no mean feat as car park up steep hill). Jen the manager quickly supplied me with a much needed glass of lager. It just got better.
Highly recommend this gem. Will be going back as soon as we can. Could not fault it.

What a great way to celebrate my husband becoming a pensioner!

Lilian and John Turner

Room Tip: We did't see any of the other rooms but I could certainly recommend The Commodore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilypops_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We rented Beach Cottage at the Cary Arms for a family winter break and from the minute we arrived we new we had chosen the right place. The cottage was delightful and had everything we could wish for, even the dog had been catered for with a bed, bowl and biscuits. The bedrooms were lovely and the beds were big and extremely comfortable. Perfect days spent walking along the beach, returning for wonderful treatments in the spa room followed by delicious food in the cosy bar…bliss! The staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful and we're very much looking forward to returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cottuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Cary Arms is magic. We took the "Doggy Heaven" break and it was absolutely brilliant. The room had its own verandah and overlooked the bay. It was like something out of New England. All the food was superb and the staff very friendly and helpful. A joy to find such a great dog-friendly place to stay. We were lucky to have Mediterranean-style weather too. We could have been in Liguria. We shall definitely go back later in the year. Bobby and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Wonderful location, wonderful massage, wonderful staff, wonderful food, wonderful weekend. We will go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotski7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Arms & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Arms & Spa

Property: Cary Arms & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cary Arms & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic, boutique 5 star inn privately owned and managed by the de Savary family in the unrivalled location of Babbacombe Bay. There are 10 contemporary, New-England style bedrooms and suites with outstanding sea-view, 6 newly launched Beach Huts and 2 Beach Suites plus 3 restored fisherman's cottages for rental.All have excellent sea views with outdoor decks, balconies or gardens. The atmosphere is luxuriously relaxing and friendly. Head Chef, Ben Kingdon and his team serve the very best of creative, English heritage dishes focusing on local, seasonal ingredients in an informal and relaxed setting. Hearty breakfasts, long lunches and lazy suppers indoors or out on the sun-terraces. Sheltering in its own unsung part of the South Devon Coast, the English Riviera, the inn is accessible by water and has its own moorings. A new Spa with indoor pool and hydrotherapy, experience showers, sauna and treatment rooms will supplement the existing treatment room from October 2016. (check for opening dates). Dog and family friendly. The inn is perfect for those looking for a luxurious and private getaway. It will blow the cobwebs away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cary Arms & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cary Arms Hotel Torquay
Cary Arms & Spa Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing