We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cary Arms & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$183
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
$351
$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$93
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corbyn Head Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$194
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$127
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$106
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
659
144
37
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
659
144
37
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssloe ginbeach hutfleet admiralrear admiralresidents loungerose cottageadmiral roomsteep roadpebble cottagedog bedthe cottageswhite company toiletriesbabbacombe baydog friendly hotelthe cliffoddicombe beachcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
748 - 753 of 868 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Charming, Exclusive, Unique, Give it a go.....A Very pleasant visit with beautiful accomodation...Having flown in from the French Riviera for a business relocation recki a real Gem which we hope to make as our Sunday Local...Staff very helpful and especially Head of House Keeping Lyn with her attention to detail she made on our visit....Food A1, Accomodation A1++++ Cleaniness Spotless...

Room Tip: Family Room with Roof terrace
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickyblue1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I got married at The Cary Arms in October 2011. The staff were amazing;the day flowed flawlessly; the food was of the highest standard and the location was breath taking.

As part of the wedding package, our guests stayed in the rooms at the hotel and were totally blown away with the views and standard of the rooms. We know that many of our guests are intending to return to The Cary Arms for another visit as they were so impressed.

One of our guest was a vegan, and claimed "not only is this the best vegan food I have had at a wedding, it is the best vegan food I have EVER had." All of our guest raved about the quality of the food, however what impressed me the most was the flexibility of the staff and chef. Before desert, the sun decided to come out and our photographer wanted everyone to go outside. This meant we needed a 20 minute halt on food. The staff did this without any fuss and made the day run so smoothly!

I would recommend this as a wedding venue, holiday destination or place to go for a meal. In fact try and find any excuse you can to visit this amazing location; you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Had a three night stay in January in Fleet Admiral room which was lovely as it had two lovely sets of french doors one onto a private terrace which would be great in Summer
The food was great although when staying for 3 nights it would be nice for a more varied menu but what we had was good.
The Residents saloon was a lovely place to chill out and relax with fantastic views.
Only one little point did not like part of the bathroom from toilet and shower area it was a grey vinyl which was obviously anti slip problem being it didnt look very nice and looks not as clean as it could be - sorry but just being honest.
The bed was lovely and the bedding was gorgeous high quality.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzureeChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights special break in January, just after New Year. We were recommended the Cary Arms by friends, particularly for its excellent dog-friendly policy. We were welcomed by the Manager Jen making a fuss of Coco our Labrador, with the words "everywhere you can go, the dog can go too". No peanuts on the bar, just a bowl of help-yourself dog biscuits! Luckily they were out of Coco's reach!

Jen was actually having a well-earned break the next couple of days, and we didn't see her again until we checked out, but everything went smoothly, and all the staff were brilliant - helpful, friendly and courteous at all times. This is the sign of good management - how well it is run when the manager is absent, not when she is there.

Our room (Commander) was excellent - large, with simple but stylish and high quality (mainly Oka) furnishings. A complimentary dog bed, bowls and more treats were all provided. It opened via a large terrace directly to the outside which was useful when Coco came in from a wet and muddy walk! Gorgeous bathroom, with large walk-in shower (no bath in this room).

There was a large, lovely sitting room for residents use only. The Cary Arms seemed to attract similar people (whilst we were there anyway), and this room became a sociable hub where we made friends over a leisurely coffee after breakfast, and Scrabble tournaments after dinner! there was a lovely leather sofa in front of the fire and plenty of books, magazines, games & DVDs etc available. Outside is terraced down to the beach, with various eating areas (including a large barbecue) and sitting areas. Obviously these were not in use in January, but I imagine are lively (and lovely) in summer.

Food is good quality seaside gastro-pub. The breakfasts were brilliant, large choice of hot and cold options. I treated myself to the (vegetarian) cooked breakfast on day 1, it was so good I had to have it 3 days running! The food in the evenings was OK, but not brilliant. We had intended to sample other nearby restaurants, but many were closed in January, and also it was so cosy at the Cary Arms is was quite nice to relax in the bar whilst Coco enjoyed her doggie dinner of chicken, rice & gravy!

I am familiar with some of Peter de Savary's previous ventures, and his touch is evident here. The residents' sitting room was a highlight (in winter anyway), and lots of "little touches" that marked the Cary Arms out as special - like the fact that they automatically brought hot milk and brown sugar with coffee, and cold milk and white sugar with tea (without being asked - even Four Seasons don't do that!); a hot water bottle popped into our bed whilst we were having dinner; giant cookies and seaside rock in the bedroom.

A final nice thing was that we were never asked to "sign for" anything as we went along - meals, drinks etc were all just quitely added to the bill. This added to the relaxing, homely feeling. Obviously I checked the bill when we checked out - 100% accurate, and I was even pleasantly surprised by the total!

I am sure we will return sometime. If it was nearer to home I'd be there frequently!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane_Rutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

we had A FANTASTIC stay in Beach Cottage this January. The staff were superb, the cottage was perfect for our family of 7 including 3 under 5 years of age. It was fantastic value for money, we enjoyed the location as we could stroll to the beach but also visit other lovely beaches and places to take the kids. We will definitely visit again as they looked after us so well and staying in a cottage within a hotel is the ideal way to enjoy a holiday with small kids.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mina71-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews