We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New upgrade of hotel”
Review of Travelodge Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Torquay
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Parking is first come first served, very restricted. There is a charge for parking but it is very reasonable and blue badge holders park free but space is very limited. On road parking available but a very busy road. Bus route to Torquay easy right outside the hotel and only ten minutes into town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Umpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 618 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice and clean hotel reasonably close to town, and in relatively quiet surroundings. Not many spaces in their car park, but parking on the street around the back of the hotel is free!
You can easily walk to shops and cafes - and walking to the nearest supermarket and Mcdonalds is also possible.
Take the train or bus into town, or to Paignton, to avoid having to hunt for a parking space.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Sometimes, when I see negative reviews about budget hotels such as Travelodge, I'm reminded about the episode of Fawlty Towers where the deaf, old woman manages to always find something to complain about. In response to her concerns about not having a good view from her window, Basil Fawlty responds with... "Well, may I ask what you expected to see out of a Torquay hotel bedroom window? The Sydney Opera House perhaps? The Hanging Gardens Of Babylon? Herds of Wilderbeest sweeping majestically....?". All I'm saying is that, if you pay less than £30 per night for a family room (as we did), please don't expect a 6 star hotel with a uniformed concierge leading you up to your top floor penthouse suite with your own private infinity pool, 70 inch plasma TV and secluded balcony with a view of your yacht moored in Torquay marina. Seriously, this was good value for money. We'd deliberately booked a family room, even though there was only 2 of us.... if it's the same price as a double room, you might as well have the extra space! The family rooms were, it seemed, all located on the 'LG' lower ground floor by the 2nd car park (at the back of the hotel). I must say that it was a very warm few days and I wouldn't have liked our room as much if it'd been outside the rear car park (which has a smoking shelter) but we got lucky. We were in room LG10 which was around the side of the hotel and down a tiny corridor away from all the other rooms. We had a 'view' of a stone wall and bushes which meant that there wasn't a lot of natural light entering the room but, for us, this was excellent as it meant the room was a bit cooler plus there was absolutely no noise from outside. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided if required. The staff at reception were friendly enough and there seemed a pleasant cafe type area, with an elevated view, where breakfasts were served. We didn't eat there though. The hotel is a little way out of Torquay itself but, as mentioned in other reviews, there's the number 12 bus, which can be caught outside the front of the hotel. From Newton Abbot, it runs to Torquay, Paignton and Brixham, then back again. Car park charges are £3 per day. You're not going to be spending the whole day in the room of a Travelodge and you should use it as a base. For us, it was the cheapest way to be close to the South Hams area of Devon (25 miles south of Torquay). I can recommend the picture postcard village/town of Salcombe and the amazing beach/scenery of Bigbury-on-Sea next to Burgh Island if you're prepared to do the drive. Torquay itself is OK but not really for us. Overall though, we thought the hotel was fantastic value for money. Ask for room LG10 if you book a family room!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here with my family for just one night, and to give the children a treat decided to get the train as this hotel is situated next door to Torre station. We arrived late morning and asked to leave our bags so we could enjoy a day at the beach, only to be told they had nowhere to leave bags!! Having backpacked all over the world on more than one occasion, I have never come across this scenario. After 10 minutes of begging and explaining our situation, we were told we could check in early but we had to pay £10. Beware if you think you can drop your bags and enjoy the day! The Receptionist pointed out we could only do this because the room was ready and they had flexibility. This hotel lacks the personal touch and the staff made us feel like a pair of moaners. On the plus side a very nice breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank familyhols03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

A nice hotel, friendly staff and clean, rooms are a bit small and it was a very warm night which caused a problem as the windows are restricted on opening. Make sure you have £3 change as that's the daily parking charge. There is a bus stop across the road (number 12) which runs every 20 mins up to midnight (£1.80 return to town). I did not eat at the hotel but the food looked ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very comfy bed for myself and my wife.very clean and tidy, friendly staff. The only bad points was it was a very warm night and the windows do not open wide enough, and the put up beds was not comfy at all. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Dan_j_b2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

So we arrived at the travelodge, I went inside to check in and was greeted by Sophie who was lovely and very helpful talked me through everything about breakfast etc and gave me clear directions on how to get to the back carpark and where the ticket machine was. We had 2 rooms as there was 5 of us both rooms were large and spacious the room and bathroom were both extremely clean and nice neat crisp towels were layed ready for us to use. Very little noise around the hotel. We went to breakfast where we were greeted by Sophie who showed us where everything was explained that you can eat as much as you like, the cooked breakfast was delicious it was fresh and very hot there was tomato, sausage, bacon, beans and scrambled egg, toast, lots of different types of cereal, grapefruit and orange segments m, granola, croissants and muffins then juices and hot drinks, as soon as we were finished with our played they'd be cleared away the chef was very friendly too as were 2 other males I'm not too sure on names. One of the nicest things about out stay was the fact the staff were so friendly and chatty we had a good chat with the security guard when we came back from our night out they all seem like they enjoy their jobs, also the hotel is very local we walked down to the sea front and into the town taking us between 20-30 minutes.
We really enjoyed our stay and looking forward to visiting again soon!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giantjellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#28 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#51 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Torquay

Address: Newton Rd, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $47 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Torquay 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge has over 460 hotels across the UK and Ireland. We can offer you great value and everything you need for a good night’s sleep wherever you want to go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing