We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised”
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #113 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pleasantly Suprised”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Read the variable reviews, with my holiday pending, called the hotel to discuss my concerns related to the other reviews. The hotel was very helpfull, i trusted them and my holiday turned out to be very enjoyable with my daughter in law and my two grandchildren. My only ccritisism was that the swimmng pool and pool area needed a good clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarlyBird17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    94
    42
    30
    26
See reviews for
31
96
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I am currently staying at the Heritage and have been since the beginning of June 2010. I travel extensively with my work as an Environmental Health Officer and I have to say straight off a number of the previous views are very unfair, whilst I am sure that from time to time there may well be problems on an individual basis the overal quality and service is excellent, if you want solitude and overall grimness then try some of the surrounding hotels. The facilities including the gym,sauna & pool are of a high standard as are the rooms I have been staying in, there is a regular and scheduled cleaning regime undertaken by very well trained staff who I found to be pleasant and helpfull. The location with its fantastic views is second to none in the area with the beach and sea front just across the road with an overbridge down to the beach etc. It is all really down to one thing the visitors attitude and overall expectations of the real world, yes it is busy and vibrant at times but that I would say is a pleasure in these days of recession and indicates how this hotel and its services are run with a true business but friendly manner and is a credit to all concerned who work there. I have been satying at the hotel throughout July 2010 & will continue until end of September 2010, so please don't let one or two clearly challenged visitors put you off, in my book it is first grade, long may it be a success

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnusa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We paid £90 for what was a nasty shabby room. There was significant noise from the bar called Applebys which is part of the hotel - and just to make things totally worse, there was a live band on directly under our room. Tried to shower - but it alternated between stone cold and scalding hot so gave that up. Was told that the jacuzzi and pool closed at 9pm, but we had to do a bit of argy bargy to get in there for 8pm only to be greeted by a very confused pool attendant who said that he was needed to deal with a fight in the pub upstairs...?!?!?!?!!?! Carpet in the passage held together with copious amounts of duck tape. NO HAIR DRYER!!!!!!! We couldnt even face breakfast so left as soon as we got up. This hotel is fine if you just want to go and get trashed - but if you are with your partner or your family, looking for a quiet ish break - AVOID!!!! Apparently the rooms have been redecorated - but if this is the case - I would HATE to have seen them before!! Advise you to fork out a bit more and stay somewhere half decent!!! That said, the hotel is right on the harbour front and convenient for town centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incognito-2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2010

First tip, dont stay there,the rooms are dirty,the beds smell of stail sweat ,the ensuite was a disgrace,the electric didnt work properly.couldnt close the window because it was broken , breakfast was grim served by people that could hardly speak a word of english,we arrived in Torquay late so we took the first hotel we came to ,paid £80 cash without asking to look at the room big mistake we would have been better sleeping on the beach. you have been warned

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripwisenorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Myself and my partener stayed there for 2 nights, we arrived on a Friday at about 11 am got the room straight away with sea view, great, had a quick look around and all looked fine but we were not there for pleasure we were house hunting, so dump the bags and off we went.
Returned at about 5.30 pm and Applebys filling up, now with the stag nights on and planes not in the air we did expect it to be heaving and it was, freshen up and came down and the bar was solid so went out to the town, got back around 11.30 pm with plenty of noise and many drunk, up to the room,and put it like this with the pop heads there and the knocking on the room door in the early hours and passageways to the rooms coded but not so good when they forget code and start kicking the door in to get through so we did not get to sleep much, very thin walls, partying. argueing/fighting etc, vertually the same Sat night, and all it was for us was somewhere crash for the 2 nights so would i recommend the hotel, only for the young who want to party out anyone else find one a biy further in.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank honda1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I stayed here for a stag do on the Easter weekend, and it met our needs perfectly. I'm just not sure that I'd want to stay there under any other circumstances. The walls are so thin you can hear everything going on in the rooms either side, the staff didn't smile once in the three days we were there, and it was generally poor for the price.

Don't get me wrong, if you're going for a heavy weekend with your mates it's nigh on ideal (walking distance of all the bars, noisy bar on site, not too expensive). Just don't book it for anything else...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithyboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Heritage and we can say we thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was lovely and clean and very spacious. We had room 15 which had a great view of the beach. The bathroom could do with an update, but we could have a good shower, brush our teeth and flush the toilet which is all you need in a bathroom really.

Yes it is an old hotel, however for the money it is worth it for the location. Within a 10 minute walk of the town centre and we found a lovely indian on the first night which was on Belgrave road, about 20 minutes walk from the hotel and on the second night we visited Bianco's italian on Torwood Road right in the centre of town about 15 minute walk if that!

The onsite Applebys bar was great and seemed to be a starting place for all the locals, and the prices where not too bad. Outside area for the smokers and a relax in the sunshine during the day.

The hotel also has a swimming pool but we did not go and see what it was like. And the also had a beauty centre for massages etc which didnt seem to high priced, again we did not try this out.

All in all, a perfect anniversary was had by us and i decided after reading reviews on many things that you need to go and see for yourself what it is like before making your mind up, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an ideally located, smart, clean hotel with something going on.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawny1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#35 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing