We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent taste of nepal”

Himalaya Restaurant
Ranked #130 of 337 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent taste of nepal”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

good choice, fair prices, friendly welcome, diet allergy friendly, good service and obviously popular with others as it was busy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank everest53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    40
    11
    13
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
torquay
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have eaten here many times, and the food is wonderful, and very clean.
The owner and his wife are lovely people. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The food is delicious, consistently fabulous week to week. Excellent service and staff are helpful and friendly. And for a night in - they deliver direct to your door. What more could you ask for.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KandKxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Faultless takeaway . Nothing can beat it in Torquay!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Have eaten here many many times, both as a restaurant and as a takeaway. Fridays meal was the ultimate. Piping hot, reasonably priced and a wonderful thick creamy hot spicy sauce. I cant recommend this place highly enough. Very small cosy restaurant with plenty of parking. Try it for yourself and you will see how good it is...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank readit101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They conistantly get it right !”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Having been again to the Himalaya Restaurant with my wife and a colleague, we were not surprised that my reccommendation about this restaurant, did not fall foul.
We were booked in at 7.30, and arrived 10 minutes late.... never a problem we were told and were seated at a nice table with crisp white cloth and Napkins.
and presented with a menu, while contemplating drinks.
To cut a long review short, I love MOMOS and pre-ordered them as they take about 25 minutes to steam.
The owner, Bakta himself cooks them and they are highly rec commended.
The restaurant itself is not pretentious but the food and the service is very good.
I have taken friends and colleagues there for years and not ever had a meal that I did not enjoy.
The service, by Simon, is attentive and leaves nothing to be asked for as he sees to know what I am going to ask for ....
MY recommended restaurant for Himalayan and something just a bit out of the ordinary.
Putt Putt Ding Ding Guys... Thank you again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeY20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Himalaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing