We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Torbay Chinese Takeaway?”
Review of Wok's Cook-In

Wok's Cook-In
Ranked #133 of 353 Restaurants in Torquay
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is probably the best in Torbay and Newton,very clean,good varied menu,polite helpful staff and above all great tasting food.The kitchen is open so that you can watch your food being prepared by the chefs.I like my food spicy hot and they dont disapoint as long as you ask when ordering.I went last night and because i probably passed at least 6 other chinese establishments to get there i thought i had better do a review as it deserves praise.Easy parking outside,a chippie next door,a cash machine and mini supermarket for drinks yards away,makes this my obvious choice when a chinese is fancied.Try it,bet you will agree.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mediterraneanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Wok's Cook-In, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We always try our hardest to maintain our standard. Thanks once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were staying at Torquay Holiday Village just up from Barton Hill Road where Woks Cookin
takeaway is located.My brother lives in nearby Kingkerswell & he recommended the takeaway to us.
The food was good,service excellent,staff very friendly,in fact not a bad word to say about this establishment.
When we visit again will definitely calls at Woks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Wok's Cook-In, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your custom and will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Living a few miles away, we usually use the home delivery service which is prompt and efficient, for a small surcharge. The food is consistently good with good portion size. The staff are invariably polite and helpful, even when busy. We have been customers (and they have had the same attentive and hands-on owner) for over ten years.

Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Wok's Cook-In, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your loyal support. We will do our best as always. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

after having used a very good chinese for years in Torquaywe called Woks when our usual takeaway was closed for holidays and have never looked back , the food is fresh really tasty and the staff who take the orders are really friendly
try this one you wont be dissapointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dgregg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

food horrible , it was cold , it smelt horrible and gave us all a bad stomach the next day , for the price you pay i would not bother going there !!!

1  Thank louissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Wok's Cook-In, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

I do apologise if you think you had a dodgy stomach and the food smelt horrible to you. To the honest truth you are the only one that gave us this negative feedback. I can not explain why other than saying that you have been very unfortunate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok's Cook-In also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Wok's Cook-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing