We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips

Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips
Ranked #10 of 332 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Once again paid a visit to our favourite fish restaurant and this time took our family,the grandchildren ate every last bit of their meal and their Dads remark was "thats what real fish and chips tastes like" on there return home to London they still cant stop talking about how good it was and for two 10 years how good is that plus all the staff were friendly helpful and funny Thanks Hanburys for a lovely night out.Will soon be back for another visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dandy032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    241
    85
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Takeaway Fish and Chips Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for large cod and chips and it was absolutely massive! Batter was perfect as well. Definitely the best we've had. Not the cheapest but I've paid more for a lot less.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstantChange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Best fish and chips I have ever tasted. Service was very good. Good size portions. Bit more expensive than most fish shops but worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fish and chips were lovely as was the dessert, Eton Mess. Portions of both main and dessert are big so make sure you're hungry before you go.
The service was very good and our waitress was a laugh.
Very enjoyable
Very enjoyable

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arboleas
2 reviews
“Best fish and chips anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

staff always helpful and friendly fish served perfectly with lovely chips
we always visit when in the area
book to avoid disappointment as they are very popular

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing