We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips
Ranked #10 of 346 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
england
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent tasty food nice friendly staff and good prices will go again cheers thanks see you on my next visit a+++++ ;-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zennaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    268
    93
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“surperb”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

visited hanburys takeaway service after the local paighton bus driver recommended it whilst we were on holiday last week in devon.
Whilst the fish and chips were slightly more expensive it was well worth the visit, batter on fish the best i,ve tasted, each order cooked individually and chips fried just to my liking - we paid £5.95 for med cod and chips which was sized to portion in a great takeaway box which we ate overlooking the stunning babbecombe bay
well done hanburys I can see why your restaurant is voted 1st in southwest and 2nd in the country - a very enjoyable experience any chance of opening one in Hampshire?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely fish and chips lived up to reputation although quite a long wait for take away. . Friendly staff . Parking not easy but car park nearby

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Southportsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing decor, amazing food & great service!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Having arrived at our accommodation fairly late on a Friday evening we needed somewhere to eat & came across this amazing place! The decor was lovely & totally unique, the food wonderful & the service second to none. We would recommend anyone to go to Hanburys....it's definitely worth a special trip! Many thanks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely fish and chips with great batter”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went early without booking and a very nice lady managed to fit us in - the portions were massive (perhaps they might consider smaller ones to leave more space for dessert??) and the fish and chips were amazing. Service was attentive and welcoming. Do book if you can though before going!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing