We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Eighth Wonder Of The World”

Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips
Ranked #10 of 347 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Eighth Wonder Of The World”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The best Fish & Chips I've tasted in 57 years...Can't be beaten for taste,serv and value for money....Nuff said.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tupperofthetrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    269
    93
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Fish and Chips”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I always enjoy the fish and chips here, so fresh and always so many chips. But I have to recommend the gorgeous scampi such a nice added extra. My son also loves the meaty sausages you can get here so there is something for everyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALP1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way! You must visit this Award Winning Restaurant!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Over the years my family have regularly visited Hanburys Takeaway and Restaurant and its top quality food and excellent friendly service means we will continue to do so.
This seriously is the best fish and chips that I have tasted! They may have come 2nd in the UK best fish and chips of the year but in my opinion they were robbed! I have tasted fish and chips all over the world and nothing compares to Hanburys (especially when the owner Dave is frying!).
We recently visited the Takeaway for Hanburys 30th birthday when they were offering take away fish and chips at a discount with all the proceeds going to Rowcroft. Dave Hanbury regularly holds charity events that my family have attended as they support Rowcroft so it is great to enjoy fantastic food and raise some money for a great cause at the same time.
For anyone who wants to eat out in the Torbay area - seriously go and visit Hanburys Restaurant with its fantastic character, superb staff and even better food at a reasonable price.......or alternatively if the weather cheers up why not take takeaway fish and chips to sit on Babbacombe downs to overlook the breathtaking scenery - a favourite past time of mine as my family has been doing this for 20 years or so. The cod royale is seriously tastey if you want to try something a little different, it has a layer of smoked salmon inside the batter - yum!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hanburys sell the best fish & chips that I have tasted anywhere in the world. Always the best quality fish, lovely batter & well cooked chips. There is nothing better in this world than sitting on Babbacombe Downs on a sunny evening looking over beautiful Torbay & eating Hanburys fish & chips. Or if its wet eating in Hanburys restaurant. Keep up the good work Dave & team.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The way fish and chips should be!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Love Hanburys! They have a brilliant reputation, famous infact! The food is brilliant quality, really unusual choices of fish, gorgeous chips, a real treat. We use the takeaway and the restaurant and it's the only time I will have fish and chips as they use really good oil for deep frying, you can taste the difference. Fantastic business, long may they flourish!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WestcountryJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing