We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“utterly batterly”

Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips
Ranked #10 of 346 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“utterly batterly”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived at our hotel as expected only to be told that their kitchens had closed for evening meal. Never mind, off to the nearest chippy, which was a good 15 minutes walk. We were greeted enthusiastically by the staff in this takeaway. Left with great yummy fish and chips twice which stayed hot and tasty all the way back to the hotel. The young lady who served us even gave me a souvenir fridge magnet to take away. Great advertisement for the British chippy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    268
    93
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant was featured on local TV last week as the award winner for fish and chips in the West Country, so we decided to try it out.
Well located near to the cliff railway there is a wonderful view of the bay. Well situated for car parking ( about 20yards away). The restaurant had some cosy booths where the very friendly and efficient staff serve the award winning fish and chips, its easy to see how they aquired the award. The generous portions of fish were covered by a lovely light batter - one of our party would have prefered a heavier batter- the chips were light and crispy . We chose a very enjoyable white wine from a comprehensive drinks menu. Altogether a truly British Lunch.
Recommended and would go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and i enjoyed the food, ambience and friendly service at the restaurant on Monday evening 24-09-12.
Cod & chips & mushy peas were stunning, lovely light batter on the fish. what a discovery for us by using trip advisor, dont leave devon until you visit you won't be dissapointed

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howardcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport,
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GREAT FISH AND CHIPS”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

As a northener I pride myself on my knowledge of fish and chips and these were top notch. The portions might have been a little bigger but I am a bit on the greedy side.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank puddinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
channel islands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff, cosy atmosphere good food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lunch for three last Friday. Very busy but staff still very attentive and friendly. Very good light batter and large cod was large. This is a fish and chip restaurant and as such is a very good one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing