We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely blown away!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hughcr
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely blown away!”
Reviewed September 15, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We booked this place primarily because it was dog friendly, and had three bedrooms.
David kept in contact with us, letting us know that cleaning would happen right up to the 15:00 deadline, and hoped that was ok. Of course, it was.

We arrived on the saturday afternoon, about 16:00 (having somehow, despite Davids very clear directions, managed to go around the one way system in Cockington)
Parking was easy, with two allocated spots. Getting in was a breeze - just enter the front door code (The front door is around the right hand side as you look from the car park, up some steps)that David supplied.

There is both a lift and stairs, and you come out on floor 2 - one of two penthouse apartments.

Again, entering a different code into the door key safe gives you access to the front door key.
On entry, the apartment is bright and light.

We were stunned by the facilities offered - apart from the cooker, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dish washer, iron (and board) hair dryers in all rooms, there is a table on the balcony with 5 or 6 chairs, with plenty of room for eating out, looking at the stunning views of Torquay and the bay.
We were pleasently surprised to see 4 pints of semi skimmed milk in the fridge, and some coffee and tea - both "regular" and "decaff". The kitchen is well equipped with utensils, crockery, glasses, etc. Extra bin bags, kitchen roll etc, are supplied as well.

Over our 6 night stay (we had to leave on the friday for various reasons), we found the apartment to be quiet, comfortable, and really worth the 5 star rating!
It is only a mile from Torquay seafront, with regular buses, and the train station within easy walking distance.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2018
Thanks very much for the detailed review. Although the apartment is about 10 minutes walk from the main beach, Torre Abbey Sands, it is opposite the smaller Livermead and Institute Beaches.j
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhesketh5...
Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful beach view penthouse”
Reviewed September 7, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This penthouse apartment was a delight to stay in, with its spectacular views of the beach, peaceful atmosphere and well positioned for the whole of Torbay and beyond. This pet friendly apartment is a stone throw walk away from Cockington Village. The interior was well equipped, spacious and comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2018
Thanks for the positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizeaglin...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful break”
Reviewed July 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Excellent property in a lovely location. I would definitely recommend the property and we would love to book again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2018
Thanks very much for the review, please do book again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy E
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous penthouse appartment/stunning views”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We arrived at water meadows, and we were very happy on arrival. Had seen the pictures and booked through home away, looked smaller on the photos, and was so much bigger in person, we all had loads of room to say there was 3 adults, 3 children, the best part was having the large spacious balcony with the fab views, the appartment was very home from home and we're very relaxed from day 1, we came for a week, and loved that everything was walking distance nipping back and fourth if we needed a anything extra. We were all happy with our bedrooms, the beds were comfy.My 2 Yr old loved running outside every time a train went by, he will miss this lol,,, we look forward to coming here again soon.. All sad to going home, want to stay another week xx

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellant apartment”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Could not of asked for anything better stunning views apartment furnished to high standard very clean everything provided for a good holiday

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Dear Hazel

Thanks for the review. You are welcome to stay again - there is lots to see and do in the Torbay area.

Best regards

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Trace...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea and sailing boat views from cozy penthouse.”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for my husband for his sailing racing, I was able to watch him from the balcony of this cosy penthouse flat. The owner, David, thoughtfully provided all those little bits you can forget but are part of your everyday living e.g., toilet rolls, milk, dishwasher tablets, washing machine tablets, cling film, tin foil, tea clothes, soap in all the bathrooms and toilet roll etc. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and pots/pans to enable you to do your own cooking on the great induction hob. David allows pets, and I took our, just over 4 month old puppy and two teenagers. I'll leave you to guess which were the easier to look after. I would probably have given the flat a 5* if the double beds were Kingsize with quality mattresses. That's the trouble with getting old....too many aches and pains and sleep seems to be more illusive.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
During a quality inspection visit I was advised to replace the double beds and add pocket sprung mattresses. I did so during 2016, and thought that the mattresses were good. However, they do seem to be softer at the edges than traditional sprung mattresses. I agree that king size would be better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views & location.”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely apartment, with all the amenities needed for a good holiday. The views are stunning from the Balcony. We would definitely return, perhaps for longer next time !

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing