We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend”
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This was our 10 year of coming to the Victoria Hotel for the Fleetwood Dance Weekend. We had a fantastic weekend as always meeting new and old friends and the dancing was superb. We normally book an upgrade room but this year we had a standard room and was very pleased with the facilities provided. The food was greatly improved this year and the only problem we had was with the waiter on the Friday night, he was so slow and did not seem to be able to cope with the volume of people to be served. A waitress came and took over the table and the service was greatly improved. We have booked again for next year and are really looking forward again to a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12,061,971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 587 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

Evening meals were ok. I felt that red cabbage and carrots two evenings out of three was poor. Out of the ten people on our table nobody eat the red cabbage, surely the chef is not under that much pressure that he has to serve the same veg all the time. How many vegatables can you name??????????. The waitress although Polish and working very hard, I thought could have been trained a little better. Tea spoons not provided, sugar had to be asked for, little things you would assume as being the norm. Again, we did enjoy the stay but still room for a little improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crockerbilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Athough the Hotel was undergoing a decoration update it did not detract from the comfort and convenience of the facilities. The food suprised us being fresh and where applicable hot. The 4 day ballroom dancing arranged was superb. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only detraction was the bed was a bit on the hard side but overall the holiday was value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJB038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

From the moment of arrival we felt relaxed and 'looked after'. We were were welcomed at the reception desk with friendliness and efficiency. Our rooms were spacious, clean, functional and very comfortable. The dining room is palatial and the 7 dinners we ate were excellent with plenty of menu choice. Breakfast is a superb buffet to cater for all tastes. Our Slovakian waitress was delightful. The housekeeping was first class with unobtrusive servicing and attention to detail. Bars,lounges and entertainment options were always available and were to a high standard. We will DEFINITELY be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

It is obvious that the hotel chain is used to its maximum and that the building and furnishings reflect that.
The breakfasts were first class but the evening meals were terrible. However, the waitresses were a delight and made the mealtimes very pleasant.
The rooms were a disappointment as they are very run down, gloomy and depressing and reflect the overuse of the building.
However, we went for a dance weekend and the hotel was adequate for this and the staff made up for it.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidlane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Have just had a group for a weeks tour staying at the Victoria Hotel, everything was brill, from breakfast through to going to bed, everyone so helpful and friendly, entertainment just brill, Kevin from KB Sounds was on 3 nights, (could have done with more), and is everyone's favourite. If you are thinking of taking a group to the Victoria, you will not have a problem, one of the most enjoyable tours we do. Thanks for the Noilly !!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodersOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Stayed here with my wife and adult daughter for one night as there were no rooms available at their sister hotel The Toorak. The booking manager wrongly advised us that it was only two star because 'it does not have a note pad by the telephone'
The hotel is run down and has an old musty smell which lingers on your clothes. The bedroom was in need of renovation with uncomfortable beds. The breakfast room was again past its sell by date and served what is best described as an average breakfast.
The staff however were friendly and helpful throughout the hotel and do their best with the tools they are given. eg Two young barmaids struggling to replace an optic whilst standing on an upturned bucket!
The complex itself has good facilities but is in need of a good clean up and some renovation, spot the green algae growing in the outdoor swimming pool! The evening entertainment was quite good and knows its audience well.
To sum up, an aging overpriced hotel way past its sell by date in need of the same renovation as the Toorak has had, needless to say we will not be making a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArthurGough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
626 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 85 in Torquay
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $81 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing