We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ballrooms, spa and staff are very attentive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #32 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ballrooms, spa and staff are very attentive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We had a lovely large room, which was extremely clean and well maintained throughout the week. Good location for walking into the centre.
All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Reception even took the time to dial us a local bus. The food was great. If you did not like the evenings menu, there was also a cold buffet and cheeseboard. Spa was also great, and the aztec spa bar was a lovely relaxing area with great pizza. This is our first visit and we will be booking again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    226
    77
    26
    4
See reviews for
150
166
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

First visit so didn't know what to expect but was extremely pleased in every aspect.The room-with a sea view- was very clean and tidy with a renewal of refreshments daily. The dining room,service and quality of food was excellent with brilliant choices at every meal. Within minutes of ordering our meal it was served piping hot. The entertainment was first class and so much variety and in every way nothing was too much for all staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millbank186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

From turning up at reception to leaving at the end of 7 days, the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel was very clean throughout, and spotless in the bathrooms/toilets.

In our bedroom, we had a comfortable bed, no sagging in the middle or edges. There was plenty of storage, and a 6 station TV. The bathroom was very very clean and had a great shower.

The food was something we were worried about before we went, but apart from one night, it was lovely food and enough of a selection to find something to like. Breakfast was buffet style but you could also order kipper and haddock. Service was friendly and immensely quick, and there was a good wine menu to chose from with dinner, which could also be pre-ordered and was then waiting on the table.

The only down-side was the lack of sound-proofing between rooms, so when someone shut drawer in the room next to you, you knew about it! Crying babies could be heard through walls as could tvs. However, we didn't spend much time in our room as we were on a dancing holiday so were busy, but we did need to sleep in the afternoon to try and make up for lost sleep early in the morning with the baby!

The Aztec spa was brilliant, lovely staff and fabulous treatments.

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, so much so, we are going back next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186364Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

I was horrified to find a drug tablet in my room on the side board especially having a two year old child it doesnt bear thinking about.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seadootorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

The receptionist upgraded us to a 2 bed apartment which was perfect. The meals we had - breakfasts and dinner for 6 nights - were very good. The staff at the hotel were really very helpful and friendly - and could not do enough for us. We were delighted with our stay and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

My friend and I had two single rooms. Mine was very comfortable - a good size, fully renovated with a lovely bathroom and excellent shower. The other room was much smaller and had not been renovated, The bathroom was tiny with the washbasin in the bedroom area. There was a couple of minutes wait for the hot water to the shower.

The only real criticism I would make is that the evening meals were a little disappointing. All the soups were heavily peppered, and the vegetable risotto was too salty. On the third night the accompaniments were all starch and no greens. However, the breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirazette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for your comments, we are continually reviewing our bedrooms to give the best standard possible and we have an ongoing programme across the year to update when required. With regard to the food i am sorry to here of disappointment, we have excellent feed back about the evening meals and breakfast, however i have discussed the points with our head chef who is always keen for feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

We arrived early in the day before our room was ready. We were offered a space to safely store our luggage until the room was ready. We have been here a few time and always find the staff helpful.

The hotel is a little "tired" and needs some work to keep up the standard - however work appears to be underway annually to improve things

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe90ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
glad to see that your stay was enjoyable, the dance festival was another great year. every year we aim to make improvements to the hotel, inside and out and we are currently working through a programme of improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Property: TLH Victoria Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing