We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend”
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #38 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a great place to go where everything within the complex. Hotel is lovely, food is suitable for all, we were spoilt for choice. Torquay is a first class English resort, but if weather isn't great, there is plenty to do within the hotel complex. Would recommend,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 580 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Val H.
The Victoria hotel is old, but ok. Food is ok. But if they offer you room 15 or 16 refuse them. I have just spent 3 very sleepless night here in room 16. They are on the main walk through to the bar and the swimming pool. So if you don't sleep at night because of the noise you cant catch up in the afternoon because the noise is even worse.
I complained and they offered me 2 single rooms and as I was with my 15 year old daughter I found that an inappropriate suggestion.So we put up with it. I suggest that you find somewhere to stay that is a lot less noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoots581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

On arrival the receptionst was very friendly & informative. We were pleasantly surprised with our room size however it was in desperate need of some modernisation & a refurb as I felt dirty despite it looking sort of clean which doesn't help with the dated decor. The added bonus that made staying here want us to return (if the other 3 hotels were more modernised) were the children facilities they were fantastic, perfect to burn some energy off either outside in the playground or in the indoor soft play. A separate football pitch would be good as kids were kicking balls across the benches near the playground. We used the indoor pools which were excellent, just the upkeep of the changing areas need to be kept maintained. (Shower cubicles floor & walls stained & tiles damaged) The carpets leading to the Arena room need replacing as they looked filthy (even though they were a dark red colour, they looked black in parts!) especially with my 2 yr old occasionally throwing a tantrum therefore throwing herself on the floor! We ate twice in the Bistro Bar both evenings and the food was very good especially with the weekend special prices making it more appealing. The variety of beer was not that great, it would have been good to see a premium lager either on draught or bottled e.g Heineken, Peroni etc. We ordered a bottle of Sauvignon for dinner at the Bistro because it was on their menu to then be told they don't serve this & it has to come from the restaurant!! It was a 5/10 min wait but they did bring one over. Breakfast was average as previous reviews better quality sausages could be used, hash bribes rather than fried toast as well as offering more continental options e.g pastries etc Overall we had a lovely couple of nights away & the facilities made it a pleasantly surprising stay for us. If I could find which of the 4 hotels has been updated & modernised I would have no hesitation to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beccig79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions as we enjoy Ballroom and Sequence Dancing in which the hotel normally specialises. This time we found none. The whole of the hotel complex was overrun by families with mostly younger children. The activities seemed to be designed for this group only.
The bedroom we were allocated was described in the brochure as 'en-suite' but the wash basin wasn't in the tiny bathroom but in the bedroom itself. We understand there are a number like this. The other facilities in the bedroom were very satisfactory.
The service received from all the staff in the hotel was excellent.
We are likely to return to the hotel (or a sister) but NOT during school holidays

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom with a full bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

An enjoyable dance week-end at the Victoria. Probably the best hotel ballroom, and definitely the best indoor swimming pool complex. Well looked after by the staff in the restaurant, bars, and reception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swimmertwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

50 of us oldie bowlers stayed at the hotel,we visited same time last year,and the hotel was still great,staff,service,food,room and entertainment.The food was served quickly,hot with plenty of variety.The hotel did us proud,I did not hear any complaints from our or other party.We had a number of bowls games with other teams and bowling hall was very good.Entertainers were very good,the Derwent Hotel team and the comedians were very funny with NO bad language.We enjoyed Steve so much that we visited the Torak Hotel the following night,to see his other act which was extremely professional.Looking forward to next year already booked

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116, which was on first floor facing the sea,very roomy and comfortable no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We visited the Victoria as part of a ballroom dancing group who have been coming to the hotel for some years. We were very pleasantly surprised with the whole package. The food was good and the staff were very attentive and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and a reasonable size for the money. The hotel specialises in dancing parties and the ballroom(s) are excellent. The 'other' leisure facilities consist of tenpin bowling, pool, snooker, indoor bowls, indoor and outdoor pools, spa etc. The hotel is one of 3 which are interconnected as the TLH group so the shared leisure facilities are very good indeed. If you are a dancer or a bowler there are special weekends held throughout the year at very competitive prices.

Room Tip: Our room was over the main entrance to the hotel on the 2nd floor. Our room was very warm (even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
620 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#33 of 85 in Torquay
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $91 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing