We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, brill weekend”
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
South Wales, Great Britain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good value, brill weekend”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Arrived about 11.40 on the Friday before our coach party arrived. Couldn't book into room until after 2 but staff were happy to store our luggage and let us park our car until we could book in. Staff I'm reception very helpful although I had to get my key card reset twice because they said it had been near other credit cards or my mobile etc which was a bit of a pain because it was so far to our apartment. Apartment was spacious and very clean. Food was hot but could have done with more variety of veg and could have done with a better variety of vegetarian menu. All together it was a very pleasant weekend. Near to the town and near to the sea. Was on a line dancing weekend and the ballroom was large and good dance floor. One thing I would say was that it was very warm
I'm the rooms and when dancing it was very warm

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AREEBA_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    238
    81
    30
    5
See reviews for
161
179
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Four of us went for a long weekend birthday bash, centered around a themed Christmas Weekend put on by the Victoria (part of TLH). Accommodation was OK, nothing special but clean rooms. Towels could be better however. Food served up and breakfast and dinner was fine, great value for money. Service was again ok. Pool complex is great although beginning to look tired also I think the cleanliness of the water and surrounding pool area is a little more than suspect. Entertainment was average other than the comedian/singer on the Saturday night who was superb (forgot his name). All in all and for the money we paid, we had a fine weekend. Don't expect too much though....depending of course on what you are used to along with your expectations.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed in Victoria hotel for weekend of dance. 3rd year visiting, good value, staff very helpful and courteous. Only drawback was dodgy wifi connections, could not get password to work on my mobile and only availble in public areas.

Room Tip: Room 207 was large, twin bedded room on quiet side of hotel. Shower was a bit wayward but had a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Love this hotel and the Derwent. The Victoria is a bit more posher than the Derwent but we like both.
The decor of both hotels is quite old fashioned but I always feel relaxed there and the food is gorgeous. Also the Aztec Bar is lovely and the swimming pool and jacuzzi are both fantastic. I love it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Every autumn now means a week at the wonderful Victoria - and again we were not disappointed!
Our 2 spacious second floor rooms had lovely views across Tor Bay.We love Torquay in the autumn and this hotel enables us to have a luxurious, peaceful time in the heart of it. There are plenty of leisure facilities and entertainment across the complex which we can dip into at anytime - but also you can find quiet lounges to relax in....and can there be anything more pleasant than a cup of tea and biscuits every afternoon at 3-30!
The food is excellent - a magnificent buffet-style breakfast and plenty of choice from the evening dinner menu - all served by friendly, professional staff in a wonderful dining room under a huge glass dome. Later a drink in the lively Alberts bar or a stroll around the complex to find to find dancing or a show. Will we be going back next year? 100% YES!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just back from a short break in Victoria Hotel, part of TLH. Great studio flat with fabulous view over the bay. All facilities in apartment clean etc. Great hotel with loads to do, swimming pool an especial favourite. Beginning to look a lot like Christmas at present as Derwent prepares for Turkey and Tinsel trips. Great time-great value

Room Tip: Studio apartment has a great view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, glad to hear you have enjoyed youreselves, it is looking very festive now we are moving into the christmas period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A hotel with lots of facilites for all ages, has connecting hotels. Our room on the 3rd floor needed a refurbishment, although was very clean (as was the whole of the hotel), The breakfast was of good quality, but the evening meal was not good, and several members of our group found the same. The entertainment was a good variety on the Friday evening, but the Saturday was a solo singer, which did not get good feedback from our group and several others we spoke to. Staff seemed very polite and hepful, but would think twice about returning

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Property: TLH Victoria Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing