We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they think they are better than they are.”
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“they think they are better than they are.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

well, on arrival we where greeted by a lovely receptionist who made us feel very at home and was nice and funny, i wish i got her name but i think she was the manager as another receptionist refered to her has her manager. We then got to the room which was nice, it was spacious, had a shower, and a tv, however very small and out dated, also the views was awful, all you could see was the extractor hoods from the air conditioning around the hotel and the windows where very hard to open.
We later went for dinner.... well, this was pretty bad to be honest, i myself am a chef who works at a resteraunt/hotel that is very similiar to the victoria, however we dont make ourselves seem posh and glamorous and then fail to keep up appearences. the menu seemd good, however i wasnt infdormed until i enquired to my room bill that certain items on the menu had to be paid for, it would of been nice to have been informed by the waiting staff that that was the case, also a waiter came over to take our order and of course like any resteraunt i thought you would order the drinks first, however when i asked for a bottle of wine the waiter gave me a blank and confused look and said " oh no, i mean food". he then went on to say i will send a wine waiter over to you, who by the way never arrived so we went the whole meal with nothing but a jug of water to wash down our dissapointment, my steak came with chips which where clearly frozen chips and im not complaining about that, but the fact that they were not completely cooked confused me greatly, i mean how do you manage to under cook frozen chips? really? the veg wasnt cooked enough, and my steak was over cooked, as we left i said to my girlfriend, atleast breakfast will be okay, you cant mess up a breakfast.......Oh how i wish i was right, we went down for breakfast to find a buffet of cheap poor quality and over cooked sausages, bacon which was fine, fried eggs lying in a puddle of grease, scrambled eggs practically swimming in water on a plate, baked beans which where fine, mushrooms which where fine and some tomatoes, if youre looking for half decent food which doesnt look or taste like its been cooked by someone who failed at catering college then i would not reccomend the victoria, however if your lost and need directions in torquay then go in and ask the receptionists because they are all very nice and friendly :) oh and also on the last day we where there when we went down for breakfast my girlfriend found what could only be diagnosed as a chip off someones tooth in her breakfast, which put her off the rest of her breakfast as im sure you would imagine, the waiting staff and resteraunt manageress are completely useless and all seem like they would rather be somewhere else apart from work, i really can not explain how terrible i think the service was at that restaurant and how useless the restaurant manageress seemd, but as i said all the reception staff i met where lovely and friendly and they are the only reason i would consider returning to the hotel, and if any of the staff read this, this is from Christian Gray ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review following your stay and your experience in our restaurant. I am surprised to read negative comments regarding our restaurant as we normally receive very positive feed back regarding our food and especially the service provided by our waiting staff, which is evident when reading the many reviews posted on this site. I would advise anyone reading this review to take the time to read other reviews before making any conclusion about the hotel. To touch on a couple of points, it clearly states on our menu where supplements apply and these are additions to the daily choices. We would hope that any guest that encounters a shortfall whilst staying with us, brings it to the attention of the hotel management team to allow us opportunity to addressed and put right any shortfall.
We remain committed to delivering excellent service and an excellent product. Again I am sorry that you did not feel it appropriate to bring this to our attention whilst you were here. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    239
    82
    31
    6
See reviews for
166
182
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just came back from Victoria Hotel Torquay (TLH) after a sequence dance with Chris Booth on the organ & dance leaders Lynda & Eric Dodd, and once again had a lovely 5 nights danceing plus 3 mornings tuition and dances, and the atmosphere was fab with over 100 dancers enjoying some old and up to date dances, a really good time we had.

As regards the hotel , the staff you cannot find fault with anyone,from the cleaners, waiters, bar staff, reception, etc; etc; all were friendly and helpfull.

The meals were very good, breakfast self service and evening, three course with coffee . Good value for what you are paying.

What can you say about the ballroom, only that it is the best in Torquay and the biggest wth seating and tables, plenty of room.

The hotel itself is one of four hotels that are joined together and you can go from one to another without going outside. There is entertainment in one or other hotel every night of the week either
dancing or artists to suit everyone and there is at least five large ballrooms to choose from throughout the complex.


There are two indoor swimming pools in the Derwent that is a must to see, and at least two outside. And because it was so warm last week we were on the sun beds under parasols having nice cool drinks.

My wife and I have been to the TLH three times this year and hope to be there before Christmas dancing again. So much to write about only I have run out of time.

Regards Jim

Room Tip: The corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wintov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent Swimming pool for my little girl, it was lovely and warm, she loved it! - Rooms could do with a little up date but nothing much really. the hotel is like joint with about 4 other hotels it is very cleverly done to make the best out of all the facilities in all the hotels. very nice stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A few issues meant this was an average rating rather than a very good one. The family room we had booked was lovely and spacious, but unfortunately the bathroom wasn't particularly clean and the smell in the room was awful - lingering overpowering sick smell which hit you hard every time you entered the room. TV worked intermittently. We were left 2 towels for a family of 4, a request for more bought us an additional 9 hand towels, but no bath towels. No toilet roll in the bathroom on the 2nd day meant a search for someone to provide some - 1 roll was our ration. The restaurant food and quality is very good, unfortunately a mix up with our booking meant we were not on the restaurant list on the first night and then played musical tables for an additional 3 meals because we had mistakenly been given someone elses table and they wanted it back. Evening entertainment is great for the children and the indoor pool is fantastic with life guards present at all times we visited. Staff in general were helpful and friendly. Overall not sure if we would return to the Victoria because of these issues, but the site is nice so may try one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our first stay at the Victoria and it formed part of a 5 day dance break. The hotel exceeded all expectations. Excellent food, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, wonderful on site facilities including a swimming pool that was bigger and better than most town pools. Rooms spotless and excellently serviced. Lovely resident's lounges and conservatory. Plenty of entertainment in the hotel. All this for extremely reasonable room rates. Rooms by Belgrave Road can get some noise from the street but rooms on front overlooking the park are remarkably quiet considering the hotel's location in the heart of Torquay. If you are a dancer the hotel boasts a number of wonderful ballrooms. This will be our hotel of choice Torquay - no need to look any further.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra to get a room overlooking the Abbey Gardens. Some street noise from Bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the victoria having stayed at the carlton previously, we will now only stay at victoria.

The staff here are so obliging and nothing is ever a problem and they just cant do enough for you ,Tina and Louise front of house are the nicest people ive meet on the resort to date and are very kind/funny .

Our wattress kamilla was a super star and was fantastic with the children.

Our room on the 3rd floor had a sea view and was huge with the best views over the bay ,with 4 lovely big windows that opened wide ,it was kept spotlessly clean every day.

The food was really yummy and always had great options for the kids ,you cant beat the ambience of the dinning room(ballroom) and its beautifull glass domed roof .

All the public areas are cleaned very well every day ,when we were there its was reggatta week and we were treated to fantasic fireworks and a spectacular red arrow dislpay on our last evening .

We would like to thank everyone at the victoria for such a great holiday our favourite to date and really really look forward to seeing you all next year ,its a truly wonderful place to holiday with children .

THANK YOU.

Room Tip: higher the better prefer 3rd floor and always sea veiws are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funtlmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have two children aged 4 & 5. Stayed 5 nights in the family room 116. This is our 4th stay at TLH complex. This stay was the best so far, the room was clean and bright with plenty of space. The beds have always been low quality and is a shame as a good sleep is part of a relaxing holiday. This room is quiet and the curtains do offer good black out. All the staff were very friendly, investors in people clearly works here. A special thank you to Alan in the Carlton who is a great asset to TLH. The food and restaurant were of a high standard we didn't have any concerns. The pool and changing area was dirty, their has been grit in the child's pool each time and the floor of the main pool is slippery/slimey. We would use this key facility more if it was cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBawdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,117 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Property: TLH Victoria Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing