We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOLIDAY”
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We have previously stayed at either the Carlton or Toorak but as these were not available we decided to stay at the Victoria in a Riveria room. We found the room, services at the hotel, restaurant, etc. all to be equally as good as both the Carlton and Toorak and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 580 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2011

Great ballroom.
Good food (and plenty of it) served by friendly staff.
Had a problem with hard(ish) mattress - came across our room cleaner (Val) who quickly arranged a solution - two duvets on top of mattress - good nights sleep thereafter.
Hotel is in good location in Torquay - three minutes walk from the beach/bus routes to all areas in Torbay. On flat land so no hills around the hotel.
Great leisure complex - pool, steam room, sauna, etc. - very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilSANDERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The hotel, room and food were great. The staff were extremely helpful but there was a small problem with the position of our room.
My wife is disabled and we requested a room on the ground floor and our own reserved disabled parking spot, we were given everything that we asked for, we were very close to the dining which was also very good. It is such a shame that the room was on a corridor which was used by other guests to get from one part of the hotel to another until after midnight. to the hotel's credit there was a sign asking for guests to keep noise to a minimum, but people go to the hotel to enjoy themselves and the sign was largely ignored. Also in the mornings I presume it was staff arriving for the day from about 6am onwards, it is impossible to walk along this corridor quietly as the floor creaks badly. Apart from the lack of sleep the hotel was brilliant, just a shame that our room was on this corridor.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The late night Disco after any entertainment has finished does not adapt to the age group that remain on for a dance. We have visited the hotel many time and the same records are played despite the age group and interest of the people there i.e. ballroom dancers. The young hotel staff DJ's continue to play the wrong type of music despite having an empty floor. We have directly complained to the staff but the next time we visit the same thing happens......Please address this issue once and for all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doddsey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Visited with a group of bowlers for 5 days and we had a great time despite loosing the majority of our matches. It would be great if the rinks were a little slower and not require such a wide delivery. However, our stay was great.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMS-Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

we love tlh especially the victoria hotel. everything is perfect but i would love a softer mattress as i have a back problem

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valeriehayesclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We came on a dance hoiday and enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Victoria.Our room was at the front overlooking the sea which was cleaned, towels replaced every day, the room was quite large and for the time of year nice and warm. The food was really good and plenty of it also a good choice including a menu for vegartairians, service was excellant and very friendly. Ameneties are also really good and catered for most people including children
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, and we are booking again for our next holiday

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
675 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#18 of 85 in Torquay
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,496 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $92 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing