We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S/West Children's Hospice Charity weekend fundraiser”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

enjoyed our stay apart from one aspect, ie; underage/unaccompanied children in Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room; discussed this with one of the managers who was aware of it happening occasionally and that it was addressed when possible - everything else excellent, especially the spa facilities!

Room Tip: our room at the front was noisy due to traffic, even at 2.30am!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are about to have a brand new Jacuzzi fitted in Feb. I hope you visit again and see the improvements we are making in that area. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
There are newer reviews for TLH Derwent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

stayed 11 - 15 Nov 2013, second visit here as the first was top class. Our second visit was better. Staff friendly and pleasant meals good room was large clean and comfy. Hair dryer shower gel tea, coffee making flat panel TV. Spa treatment was brilliant, felt great afterwards. Entertainment superb with good mix of dancing. Hi Life the duo in Starlight lounge got the party rocking in the evening. Will go again no worries.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weloveBenidorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a rocking break. Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Derwent for 3 nights over the half term period. We spent most of our stay at the hotel, making full use of the leisure facilities on offer. The pools were great, plenty of space and suitable foe all ages. Clean, tidy rooms and although we weren't allocated the upgraded rooms (all rooms will eventually be upgraded) our rooms were perfectly fine. The food was excellent, good choice and quality. The most impressive aspect of the trip for us was the service. Staff were all helpful, friendly and cheerful. So much so that we made a point if speaking with the hotel manager so that this could be passed on to his team. We would definitely return, perhaps to try one of the 3 other hotels that form part of this complex. An excellent stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

For a two star hotel and less than £40 a night the derwent is brilliant. Rooms were spotless, service excellent, food first ckass, pool, steam room, and sauna amaxing and not stop entertainment all day. Catered supetbly for all ages. Good as any cruise ship

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. Having just been on what was a very nice cruise myself recently, our offering is a fraction of the cost without the need to ever leave port. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Love this hotel, just got back from a 2 night stay
room was spotless, and has excellent facilities and is very very good value

suitable for all ages

good entertainment and the pools are lush

will be back very very soon

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thought we would give this '2' star another go after spending a week there in the summer. What can I say, once again really enjoyed it. There is no way this hotel should be 2 star, the room, well the one we stayed in, also our friends room ,looked like they have had a makeover , clean fresh and welcoming. As usual no complaints about anything. The facilities are very good, especially as we had some bad weather the large games room helped kill some hours till the weather lifted enough for us to get out and about. Then back to the entertainment in the main hall, great time. We also go on themed breaks to Sandbay which is just outside Western Super Mare. This is ideal for us as it is only an hour and a half away, but even though Torquay is three an a half hours away, our stay at the Hotel Derwent makes the journey worthwhile. Somehow the window on the car was left open and the night security guard at the Derwent, as it was in the early hours, went to the trouble of calling the police to identify the owners ,us, so he could contact us to sort out the problem. Thanks as the weather was horrible that night. Will be going back .

Room Tip: as always pot luck with any where you stay but we were in 107 first floor no views as such but clean...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm glad your car did not get wet. Hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a revelation. Derwent Hotel is a 2* but you are treated as 5* clients. Hotel needs some TLC but very clean, comfortable and staff are extremely friendly. We recently visited on a Coach Tour with Edwards Coaches and cannot fault anything. Meals and quality of food was first class with plenty of choice and more than sufficient amount. Plenty of activities in the complex daily and brilliant entertainment in the evenings. No need to leave the hotel. It was our first visit to Torquay and the Hotel and we would certainly return. We had a wonderful break.

Room Tip: We recommend a room towards rear of Hotel as they are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineseeker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I'm always really pleased when I see new guests having a great time. I hope you become one of the many regular guests that we take great pleasure in looking after. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,136 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $82 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing