We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legends weekend break”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent a great weekend at this hotel, entertainment varied and very good, main attraction a Shirley Bassey tribute was excellent. We had a family room although there were only two of us, very clean, tea making facilities, hairdryer, safe, TV and surprisingly quiet even though we overlooked the main road. Food and service in the restaurant was first class, plenty of choice even for the fussiest eaters although I would advise getting an early breakfast as some cooked foods disappeared quickly and weren't replenished. The hotel is a little jaded in parts-some worn carpets and patchy paintwork- but this didn't detract from our enjoyment. All staff we met were friendly and check in was quick and efficient. Would we stay again? In a heartbeat!! Great value for money

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from the lift and up small flights of stairs. Worth asking for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paisleyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself my partner and our two young children have just returned from a five night break at The Derwent Hotel. We have previously stayed at The Carlton within the same 'complex' and had a very enjoyable stay and so were keen to return to TLH.
We stayed in a four bed family room which was exactly as hoped for/ expected, a large room with plenty of space for us and our two children. Clean and conformation. Modern tele with good range of free view channels, tea and coffee making etc.
Although we were at the front of the hotel we did not find much road noise as a few other posters have commented on. There was no noise from entertainment either which I was very pleased about as I have previously stayed in expensive hotels only to be kept up all night.
We went on a dinner bed and breakfast package, which at just over £600 for the four of us for five nights I thought was excellent value.
The breakfast was good, the usual selection of hot cooked breakfast which was of a good standard, cereals and fruit, yoghurt etc, tea and coffee and juices if you want them.
The evening menu was also good, I would describe it as quite traditional / fairly simple
but they do it well ( and may well be slightly more diverse in school hols when there is a younger clientele?). The only thing I would say is that outside of school holiday times in the week they do not offer 'children's' menu and Despite asking they did not offer 'small' versions of their meals which mine found a bit off putting, but that is a small criticism as they were otherwise very friendly and accommodating to the children.
The facilities at the hotel are good, great swimming pool, soft play,games room etc and if you are travelling without children or with older ones there is a spa ( had a massage the previously which was very good). There is also a kids club but we did not use it. Also a good outdoor play area.
The staff at this hotel were without exception really friendly and helpful, cannot fault them.
Overall we had a Lovely time, felt it was good value and would recommend/ return. If you wanted a slightly more exciting menu then the Carlton might be better for you but then it is three stars, the Derwent do extremely well for their two stars!!

Room Tip: Although there are lifts there also stairs on the landings, if you have limited mobility it might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a short 3 day break food very good quality and quantity, and staff excelent from bar to bed room reception to dining, room had been re furbished so was good but a little small,
Swimming games room great, jacuzzi does need some serious work done on it, lets them down a bit.
Looking forward to a return in the spring with friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIESPRINGETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to say that the Jacuzzi should be replaced in January 2014. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have visited this hotel in the past, and once again I must say it has been a wonderful few days away. Yes the hotel may need updating in certain areas but one one thing they do have is first class staff and the restaurant food is of high quality. If you do get the chance go and see the comedian midweek worth seeing, rooms are clean and tidy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLS4315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was my 21st birthday weekend and my partner booked the derwent hotel last minute as a suprise, we come to torquay regularly with our families and have used the facilities before at the hotel but never stayed there, facilities and restraunts were lovely and food was at a very reasonable price, staff were so friendly.. And had a lovely male receptionist which worked there over night advise me and my partner on the best places to go on a night out in torquay, the only down fall was the room. It was so small and the floor was on a slant it felt as it we were going to sleep upside down we stayed in room 338 and wish we had complained that night as it really was a disappointment as we were only there one night it wasn't a big deal, if we were to go back to the derwent I'd definitely querie the room if it were given one like last time. Paid £92 for one night to sleep in a box room over looking the dust bin area. Other than that lovely hotel, lovely facilities and really friendly staff

Room Tip: If given a room that you do not approve of ask to be moved, me and my partner wish we had. If we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review.We are in the throes of a major refurbishment program. All of our bedrooms including those that have not yet been refurbished should be clean and well above the minimum 2* requirement. We strive to be much more than our 2* grading and for the most part we are. We hope that within the next 12 months we are in a position to apply for our next star, once our refurbishment program is almost completed. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our party of 5 had a wonderful 4 day break.
The food was good - the service was excellent from reception to dining room - the evening entertainment was above average.
The trip was undertaken under difficult personal circumstances but proved more enjoyable than we had hoped for due to the understanding staff.
Congratulations to all concerned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have visited this group of hotels over the past 25 years and always enjoyed our stays, we have recommended this hotel to our friends who also have enjoyed it.We enjoyed all the hotels but our favourite is the Derwent,The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the restaurant staff and manager outstanding and food likewise.Daphne

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
620 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $74 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing