We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time Visit”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I thought this was a brilliant place to come and visit. Especially where it was situated in Torquay close to the beach and town. Their were plenty of things to do at the hotel so you couldnt get bored here whilst you were staying.

The downside to the stay is the lack of parking facilities their is totally not enough car parcking spaces for three hotels in one so a improvement can be made their.

I would really love to come back to this hotel again it was a brilliant experience

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that not nearer to the main road due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just had a summer break at the Derwent with our children and we had a fabulous time. the food is very good and the entertainment is excellent. The facilities are very good especially the games room. We found this hotel very good value for money and we shall return.

Room Tip: First floor pool facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I am the tour organiser for my bowls club and I have been running club tours for many years. I know from experience that its difficult to please all 50 people that join a weeks holiday, thats just the nature of people, what one likes another won't. However this year,s break staying at the Derwent Hotel was the best experience I and the rest of our group have had. From my perspective it is easy to arrange as the hotel arrange all transport, six bowls matches and have experienced and friendly bowls staff on hand to help should any problems arise. All the staff work very hard, were considerate, helpful and went the extra mile. This was confirmed when one of our ladies had to visit the hospital with what turned out to be a small problem one evening. Their reception were on hand to arrange transport back to the hotel. The rooms in the hotel are comfortable and have all you would expect in a good hotel. The hotel's facilities are terrific. Indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a ballroom with entertainment each night, ten pen bowling, table tennis, snooker and for bowls enthusiasts a four rink indoor bowling arena. Last but by no means least there's the food. Breakfast was standard fare but of good quality and plenty of it. The evening menu had plenty of choice and was of high quality. I didn't have one complaint and this is rare. Well done to all at the Derwent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of a group of 15 with 7 small children from 6 months to 8 yrs old. The hotel has clearly been subject to big improvements recently but there is quite a lot to do. That said everything worked and the facilities were good, especially the pools and children's play area, which is safe and good quality.
What the hotel lacks in appearance is massively compensated by the service. The staff were all so so helpful despite all the challenges that small children present. Nothing was too much trouble. This is a real plus point.
The food is good if not spectacular but there is a good choice and the set up is very relaxed. Very good breakfast.
The entertainment at night is quite good fun for kids but there is a good choice of other bars, either in this hotel or in the three others owned by the same company, if you prefer a change if scenery.
We are, unfortunately, hotel snobs so I was a bit worried going for a 2 star hotel but we were so, so surprised at what a great time we had.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheltenhamGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second break at the Derwent with our grandchildren, again it didn't disappoint excellent facilities, food very good with a good choice . Our grandchildren cant wait to come back again next year. The free tea and biscuits in the afternoon are also a nice gesture.

Room Tip: Our family room was on the road side of the hotel which can be a little noisy, rooms facing the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Derwent for a weekend with 5 mates to celebrate my 50th birthday. The value for money is amazing given all the facilities, bars and restaurants available and the high quality of the breakfast. The indoor pool complex is fabulous and I used it 3 times over the weekend. The single room I was in was spacious and spotlessly clean and got cleaned on the Saturday. My only gripe is the poor water pressure from the shower but I will definitely be returning with my family in tow.

Room Tip: One of our party had a room with an upgraded bathroom, might be worth asking for one of these when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I took my bowls club of 54 poeple to this hotel for the 13 year running over the August bank holiday had a great time as always very good food and entertainment staff were very good and helpfull, we have already penciled in for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 86 in Torquay
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 86 in Torquay
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $81 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing