We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Torquay”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having stopped in many hotels in Torquay, I have to say this has got to be the best one yet. A group of 6 stayed there and have to say the renovated rooms are lovely, it was worth paying the extra for the single occupancy. The facilities are excellent and although we did not travel with childen there seemed plenty of things to do. We did not sample the entertainment, nor the evening meals but found that the food offered in the Aztec bar was very good. It made my 40th a weekend to remember. Staff were very helpful. The only problem we did encounter was the warm weather meant leaving your windows open which meant that the traffic/binmen made sleep difficult, however not something you can blame the hotel for.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room preferably at the back to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and we both had a fab time there was so much to do we both loved it loads of places to choice from to eat prices of drinks reasonable the indoor pools and games room loads of fun as was entertainment abba night and viva las Vagas night were my fave.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saz983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When we arrived mid afternoon, we found a car park space with no problems, the reception staff greeted us with a smile, running through various details with us.
We asked for a refurbed room and found this to be to our satisfaction, everything had been installed recently, we had a stand in shower, which we prefer, could have had an additional wall shelf for our toiletries though, rather than leaving them on the floor!
Next morning, heading in for breakfast, the maitre d` greeted us by name!! We hadn`t met before, must have been waiting for two new guests!!
The waiter at breakfast time was professional in his job & had time to speak to those he was serving.
Breakfast ran smoothly, even though some mornings were busy, with International students & coach parties waiting to be served in their own areas, we never waited more than a few minutes for our attentive waiter.
At night we went down town, but always returned for the included entertainment in the ballroom.
The majority of the patrons were elderly, we are in our early Fifties, we enjoyed the shows etc.
Drinks were fairly priced, matching those down town & in pubs close by.
Each evening we were able to get parked close to our entrance.
On our final morning, the check out went seemlessly and we were on our way back to Tyneside shortly after 9am.

Modernisation is being carried out, but in no way did this impact on our stay, the guys would move out of the way for you & had a cheery chat as you passed. Well done Derwent staff.

Room Tip: We had room 138, which met our needs for the duration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LANGY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Touring along the coast staying a few days at each town. Very happy with this hotel - staff, food and entertainment well up to standard and think that it should be more than 2 Star. Some areas a bit dated but you can see that efforts are being made on an ongoing basis to effect improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just had another visit to The Derwent Hotel in Torquay once again we had a great time the entertainment on Friday and Saturday was great Motown music. The décor needs updating but they are in the process of doing just that but the cleanliness is very good. As for the staff you couldn't ask for more polite, friendly and helpful people, they cater for the tiniest tot to the oldest recycled teenager. there is always something to do during the day if you are stuck indoors by the weather swimming, gym or something the entertainment staff put on. They are a very hard working staff and deserve praise. We look forward to going in back in August and again for New Year. It is a hard to please person if you cannot enjoy your visit there as it is value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiddieWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

we visit this hotel several times a year to attend 'rock bottoms dance weekenders'
the staff are very friendly, accommodating, responsive and generally lovely
the food gets better every time we visit
the pools are great - indoors, outdoors, hot, cool, sauna, steam, hot tub
the function areas are good - great dance floors
the hotel is easily accessed from train stations
give it a go

Room Tip: the front of the hotel is on a main road, if there is a function, make sure your room is not above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debutaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a long weekend at the Derwent and from the time we arrived which was 9.15pm on the Friday we had excellent service from the night staff Phil and Elizabeth. We had a cold salad platter that was lovely and fresh awaiting for us after our long journey from the Midlands. The hotel is a little dated and the rooms are been modernised gradually however the hotel facilities, food, staff where second to none. Cannot comprehend why this hotel is listed as a 2star as it has many qualities. The swimming pools are all clean and well maintained if I had anything to moan about there was a crowd us and we had booked the 10 pin bowling lanes as a team building exercise however after playing on all four lanes the balls all got stuck and the engineer was unable to fix the machine however the staff were extremely accommodating and refunded our money for the second game. The hotel is in a good location it's only a few minutes walk from the front and the town centre and if the weather is as good as we experienced then why go abroad Thank you to all the staff involved and keep up the good work xxx

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#35 of 85 in Torquay
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
622 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $74 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing