We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short mat bowls weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
South Molton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“short mat bowls weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was our second visit to the Derwent Hotel, and if anything it was better than last year. Our room was very comfortable and clean, good choice of food and well prepared and served by friendly staff [ nothing was to much trouble ]. Evening entertainment was good and bar prices not too bad. All in, it was a very good weekend and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    414
    139
    39
    29
See reviews for
340
297
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time - the staff were all so friendly and gave excellent service, the food was delicious with plenty of choice and there was lots to do including aqua robics, line dancing entertainment and a chance to be pampered at the spa. Just trying to work out how soon we can go again-only query we could not understand why Derwent isn't at least 3 star because we certainly felt we had been given 5 star service!.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailHocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is my first time at the Derwent and i really enjoyed it with my family and i shall be going back next year :D

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWQUAY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have had a great stay once again, Room lovely king size bed , Food excelent, Staff so helpfully, see you again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIESPRINGETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

My stay there was ideal the staff could not do enough, on my arrival I request a room change as I wanted to be on a higher floor they showed me more then one room and where very helpful as to my selection. I stayed there for five days the spa is great as is the entertainment will be staying there next time I visit Torquay.

Room Tip: Upper rooms at the back of hotel are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chester2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent a weekend here with a group of friends at the end of February. Good welcome from very pleasant reception staff. Our room was on the first floor. It was roomy and very clean with a comfy bed. The food was outstanding with a good choice even for one of the party who is coeliac. Lovely swimming pool and bowls hall and entertainment in the ball room was good. In fact the whole experience was all set for an excellent - UNTIL we went to bed. We were on the main road side of the hotel so plenty of traffic noise but the worst noise came from the corridor. The walls are so thin you think the passers by are IN the room - especially at 2am! Worse was to come As each night around 3.30am doors around started to bang and what sounded like a small army gathered in the corridor. Not sure if we were surrounded by staff who were going onto shift, but it was awful. they even left their empty glasses outside our room ! Others in our party on other floors also complained of corridor noise, although those in the inside rooms were much happier than us on the road side. So beware and ask for a high floor on the rear side.

Room Tip: High floor on the rear side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Had great stay, room was basic but ticked all the boxes, was clean although curtains were very thin so made for an early start! The food was great and a good variety and waiting staff were excellent. Overall very pleased with my stay & would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing