We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Break”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have stayed at the Derwent several times during the past few years , I like the location of the hotel and its setting , the room this year was better and the bathroom had a shower cubicle
which was good . The food as in previous years was very good , but there seemed to be less staff not as good as usual . The lifts could do with a good service , not working quite a lot , ok for me but not for others . Overall good hotel lots of facilities in a good location and will not hesitate to book again in the future . Also had good weather which made it even better .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denboManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
There are newer reviews for TLH Derwent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

For a 2* hotel the facilities and service is excellant. Stayed for family weekend and had a really good time.Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanval100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We have been going to the Derwent Hotel for many years, and we due to return in February 2012. Our recent holiday was up to the usual good standard. Room clean and comfortable. Food, was good with ample choices. Staff polite and efficient. Swimming Pool and Games Arena, are !! Brilliant.!! Only grouse is the price of some drinks, a glass of Coke from the pump at £1-40 is over the top. Otherwise satisfied.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the lift. Reason only 1 Lift in the Hotel some rooms have a very long walk th...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KenDee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

i thought it was a very family friendly place and there was lots of things to do. the food was nice with a good selection and variety. however the dining room gets hot and crowded, particularly in the evening. the swimming pools are a really good size both inside and out, this includes a sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi. although some of the machines are a bit older, the games room is well equipped and will keep all the family entertained. its just a short, five minute, walk down hill into the beach and the town centre is about half a mile along the shore line.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoinBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

we are regular visitors and will continue to visit
Positives...excellent food, restaurant staff mainly foreign and provide excellent service
indoor pool is superb and caters for all ages
good location and good facilities
competatively priced for half board and good offers sometimes available with children u10 free with x2 adults
Negatives..drinks rather pricey...kids club in the day require an adult to remain which would enable parents an hour break if you could leave them.However of an evening you can leave them with kids club for 90 minutes which is nice touch.
outdoor pool is superbly laid out but water is freezing cold and evening entertianment is a little to child focuses which is gd but should cease at 9pm
rooms are basic and old fashioned but very clean and rooms serviced to a high standard

i would fully reommend this hotel especially to families with children under 16.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pc_bento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We have been visiting the this group of hotels for the last 25yrs but this year we were very dissapointed with the standard of general maintenence, Hygiene, and food.
The exterior of the Hotels has fallen into disrepair as was the room.The bath panel was hanging off which we replaced. The plastic beakers supplied were dirty through previous use and the whole room needed updating. On entering the jacuzzi there was very noticeable build up of scum/dirt around the top ledge and vents. We reported this to reception but was still the same when we left.
The eggs at breakfast were raw, and inedible ,the tables were set one inch apart from the next (so no private conversation) the food from the bar was not as stated on the menu, the creamed mashed potato as dried powder mash not mixed properly with dried lumps in, no onions in the onion gravy and rock hard sausages! we did complain at the time, and the food was left on my plate, he just said he would tell the kitchen staff.
Its a shame as we have enjoyed coming to this hotel for many years,but standards have definitely slipped!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

TLH is unique in that they own all the hotels on this one block in Torquay, so they've joined them together to give shared entertainment facilities, making it a kind of privately run Butlins style place. The dining was great, good choice and huge portions, the kids had plenty to choose from. The entertainment was excellent, we spent half the time on and half off the resort. Good pools, really good for kids and adults alike. Would go again for sure. Not the best/most modern finish on the rooms, but plenty clean etc. so who cares about that. The corridors to the rooms were being painted during our stay, these were most in need it attention. Noise outside my window at night, but that's to be expected in a holiday town like this. If I went to Torquay again, I'd rebook straight away with TLH.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,136 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $82 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing