We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group visit.”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited the hotel for 3 nights on the 30 Sept 2013 Our whole stay was wonderfull,The staff were very good and helpfull The food was excelent everyone enjoyed themeselves with no complaintents at all.We will visit and stay again.Thank you The Carlton.

Room Tip: All our rooms were supper plenty of room with a great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback and I am glad you and your group enjoyed your short break with us in September.

We hope to welcome you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 620 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Used the fab spa and pool, great highly recommend . Rooms are big and comfi. Close to centre. Overall great place to stay.would recommend it to all. Has got good food and as well small bar. Outdoor pool looks great but due to rain not to be used. Would spend a few days in summer here as it looks fab

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikifoodandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you had a great stay at the Carlton.

The outdoor pool is fantastic over the summer and I hope you will come back next year to experience this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Wow I have just got back this afternoon from this hotel, what can I say? It's fantastic value for money, the food was delicious, the spa treatments were out of this world! The rooms were standard but very very comfy! We can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments on your stay with the Rosemary Conley group.

We are lucky to have such a great pool, spa, fitness studio and gym as part of the hotel which enable us to offer a great value spa and fitness weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the Carlton for a four night stay with my daughter and my two grandchildren. Had a fantastic time end August, was able to swim in the outside pool, the playground has been improved with more equipment, a great wall to climb. Our dining room experience was as always great, nothing too much trouble to get. Room very comfortable. The only downside was that the entertainment changed on the Friday of our stay and there wasn't really much for the children to do in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMepham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay in August at the Carlton.

I am so pleased you had a great stay with us and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very clean room ,nice view of the bay,lots of tea,coffee and milk. Plenty of piping hot water and clean towels. Food was delicious at each meal.Staff efficient and courteous at all times. Entertainment varied and of high standard. Pools were well maintained and Lifeguards on duty always. Loved the Aztec design!! I certainly would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback and I am glad you had an enjoyable first stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We enjoyed a week at the Carlton hotel, Torquay, in July 2013.....the weather couldn't have been better, but unfortunately the hotels in England do not cater for hot weather, and therefore have no air conditioning...the hotel had run out of fans and so had the resort of Torquay.. The rooms were unbearably hot... So be warned if you go in the summer pack your own fan!!!!
The rooms were comfortable, and the food was good. Staff were very pleasant and helpful... The sun beds around the pool could do with some new cushions but we were thankful to have the pool to cool off in..the hotel is suitable or disabled guests as the entrance is ground level and lifts to all floors... Well worth the money especially if you take advantage of the all inclusive drinks breaks....
Depending on which week you go depends on the entertainment, and how good it is..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatley8226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay.

We were fortunate enough to have a fantastic spell of weather over the summer and this meant everyone could take advantage of our great outdoor facilities. As you mentioned the only downside was that it made some of the bedrooms warm and although we had more fans that we have ever had we did run out, I am sorry about this.

However, I am pleased that overall you had a great time with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

There is everything you need for a great family holiday" ,5 stars from us. We have been coming to this resort for the last 6 years and just cannot fault the facilities, staff, rooms and entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for the 5 star rating, I am glad you had a great time with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $77 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing