We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English riviera” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“English riviera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We enjoyed a week at the Carlton hotel, Torquay, in July 2013.....the weather couldn't have been better, but unfortunately the hotels in England do not cater for hot weather, and therefore have no air conditioning...the hotel had run out of fans and so had the resort of Torquay.. The rooms were unbearably hot... So be warned if you go in the summer pack your own fan!!!!
The rooms were comfortable, and the food was good. Staff were very pleasant and helpful... The sun beds around the pool could do with some new cushions but we were thankful to have the pool to cool off in..the hotel is suitable or disabled guests as the entrance is ground level and lifts to all floors... Well worth the money especially if you take advantage of the all inclusive drinks breaks....
Depending on which week you go depends on the entertainment, and how good it is..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatley8226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay.

We were fortunate enough to have a fantastic spell of weather over the summer and this meant everyone could take advantage of our great outdoor facilities. As you mentioned the only downside was that it made some of the bedrooms warm and although we had more fans that we have ever had we did run out, I am sorry about this.

However, I am pleased that overall you had a great time with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    236
    60
    16
    6
See reviews for
221
128
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

There is everything you need for a great family holiday" ,5 stars from us. We have been coming to this resort for the last 6 years and just cannot fault the facilities, staff, rooms and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star rating, I am glad you had a great time with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The room was clean and tidy with plenty of coffee and tea. The food served in the restaurant was of a very high standard. The hotel has plenty of entertainment as something was always happening, and there is a detailed list of activities in the room. However, it was also conveniently placed a short walk from the theatre and seafront.
Can not fault my experience as all the staff were brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We visited over bank holiday and yes it was a warm period and the room hot, fotunately the window opened wide. This,I am told by the oldest grand children was their fourth visit with us and the youngest ones, aged 4 and 5 it was number one. The hotel was excellent as usual, yes some of the decor needs updating but this takes time and money. The food was better this year and the choice for children was good and varied, the Restaurant Manger and his staff were always obliging. Overall this hotel gives excellent value for money. The whole group is well managed and it was good to see so many families enjoying the facilities. Outdoor children's area a hit with our youngsters. Already been told the youngest ones want 3 days next year like the oldest ones, only hope the Grandparents can keep up!! Great visit to Living Coast for the eldest two.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at the Carlton.

I am pleased to read that you and your family had a great stay with us and we hope to welcome you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 days (4 nights) last November on a dancing break. The hotel is part of a complex of four hotels comprising the THL Leisure complex. There are several dance floors, bars, restaurants, indoor bowling, outdoor pool and large and impressive indoor pool and fitness suite, which I used whilst we were there. We found the staff, the service and the food faultless and as a mini-break with half board the price was very good value.

The dance floor was very good and the tuition excellent. The décor in the corridors and rooms in our part of the hotel was a little tired and dated, but this was acknowledged by the management who were taking steps to update it, and our room was spacious, comfortable and clean.

There was adequate free parking on site and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, which was very useful.

Live entertainment was available on site and the complex is just a short walk from the sea front and the town centre, which we visited several times during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K7JBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on your dance break in November.

I am pleased you had enjoyable time and we hope to welcome you again on another dance holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked this resort as a 3 day treat for myself mum and son. As photos shown the first room was a disgrace, but having said that the hotels were all full so they couldnt move us. We were moved the next day to a much better room with a nice white bathroom not the sickly green. The food was very nice and all the staff I met couldn't do enough for you. The assistant manager refunded us for tje first night and the rest of the break was wonderful. The hotel does need a bit of an upgrade as shabby in places but the restaurant was immaculate. We will go again and will make sure we check our room. Its fantastic for families as so much to do rain or shine and it's close to the beach. Our problems were made right so I thank the hotel for being so understanding.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hboo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel.

Firstly I would like to apologise for your disappointment on arrival and agree with you that your experience is not consistent with our usual high standard. If you read other reviews you will see most people comment on how clean the hotel is and that we are a good standard of 3 star accommodation.

What is great to read is how well my team dealt with it and resolved this for you straight away. We acknowledge that we cannot get everything right 100% of the time, but when problems do occur we do our best to put them right and I am so pleased we did this for you with a refund and room move and went on to have an enjyable stay.

I have been into the room you have put photographs of with my Head Housekeeper and ensured any issues have been rectified. One comment I will make about photographs on trip advisor is that they can be very misleading and not give an accurate feel for a room. For example a small stain on a wall or scuff mark can be zoomed in on to make it look worse than it is.

We are pleased you will return again to the Carlton Hotel and we have made a note to ensure you are not allocated that room again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Carlton for a couple of nights in August. There are four hotels linked together; the Toorak, Victoria, Derwent and Carlton all making up the TLH complex. The hotels share a large indoor pool facility with two pools and a Jacuzzi (although the latter was not operating while we were there). There is a large out door pool (with smaller kids pool). This is fenced off for safety with plenty of deck/sun chairs and access to bars and a bistro. There is also a shred games complex which is huge with 4 automatic ten pin lanes, pool and snooker tables as well as the usual video and slot machines at a reasonable cost. The games complex also has a bar.

There are good points and not so good to this complex of hotels but overall it was a pleasant experience.

The rooms: ours was a good size and clean. It was well appointed (there were three of us sharing and it suited the purpose). On the down side, the room was very hot on entering with very limited ventilation and no AC however with the door to the hall open and the windows open as much as they would this was sorted after about an hour and wasn't an issue thereafter. Our bed was very firm, but then that's just a personal opinion.

The Staff. Throughout the complex all of the staff that we encountered were friendly and carried out their duties with a smile. Reception (Carlton) was very helpful too. We had an in room safe issue which they resolved within minutes.

Food. We chose to eat in the Aztec bistro for dinner (as opposed to the main restaurant) which is around the pool complex. To be honest, it was excellent and reasonably priced at £7 to £10 a plate and was served hot and in good time. We had to move three times to find a non wobbly table but that is being a bit pedantic now!

Parking: A bit of a nightmare if you are in a hurry to park. Very limited spaces and what there are, are very tight. But then I guess when these hotels were built, there were fewer cars and they were much smaller. We found that if you spent a few minutes and drove around the various hotels you could find parking (especially in the south car park down by the Toorak. A short walk to your hotel granted but could be worse. There is on road parking too. Beware, if you are planning to use your car of an evening you may well get blocked in. Consider parking on street if you are going out.

Location. Pretty good. A 5 minute walk to the rail station and sea front. Ten minutes to the main town and marina or a short bus, car, taxi ride. If you do stay, try and catch the ferry trip to Brixham...half hour each way but just £1! There are a few pubs and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk.

Décor. OK. The newer bits are fine and parts of the older building could do with redecorating. But it would cost a fair bit to do this and that would probably push the room rates up. Non of the décor was an issue for us though; I've seen far worse in more expensive and prestigious hotels.

Summary: a pleasant seaside complex, not overly expensive, good food and drink at reasonable prices (happy hour from 6-7pm). Really good if you have teenagers or younger kids alike.

Hope this review has helped.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a sea view (usually) but can get very hot in summer. If warm rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we always value our guest feedback and comments to help us continually improve what we offer.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable time and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#33 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing