We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from an easter break at the Carlton hotel. This is my second stay here. Although the weather wasn't brilliant we had a great time and extended our stay by another night.

I don't think you can beat this hotel for value when the free kids offer is on. We stayed in a Riviera room which had lovely sea views and loads of space for the four of us. The food was fantastic with lots of choice each night. The kids usually had the childrens buffet but had a main course from the menu one night each. We were very well looked after by our waitress ela who always remembered who had what drinks and how we took our tea and coffee each day. My husband had booked a birthday cake for me on Thursday and I had a lovely surprise when the waiters and waitresses brought it to me all singing happy birthday.

The afternoon tea and biscuits is a nice touch in the afternoon although we only made it twice. The 25 metre swimming pool is lovely And the entertainment great, I wish there were more hotels in England that offered this type of holiday for families. We will definitely be back.

Karen from Sheffield

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 383KarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you Karen for your kind comments and I am glad the Carlton Team made your special celebration extra special.

I agree that the kid’s free offer is exceptionally good value and is one that we now repeat throughout the year, so hopefully next time you will be able to take advantage of this again.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    243
    63
    18
    7
See reviews for
228
134
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a 4 night dance holiday 1st April 2013. There were 78 in our group which ment we had exclusive use of the wonderful ballroom. The hotel was good, the food good and the staff very accomadating. The only blot was we had a couple of days really bad weather, not rain but very cold. Considering the southeast had snow we count ed ourselves as very fortunate. A good time had by all

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twirles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

I am pleased you had a fantastic time. We were one of the only places that didn’t have snow and it was considerably warmer here than the rest of the country. Torquay is lucky enough to have it’s own micro climate and gets its name The English Riviera from as it is one of the warmest places in the UK and great in the Spring and summer.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights self catering, followed by 2 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal. We have stayed in the self catering apartments many times before. They represent excellent value and flexibility. What made the break this time was the high level of service we experienced in the restaurant of the Hotel, particularly for the evening meal. The range of food was good, with a buffet option for children if they don't want to eat from the main menu. The manager and his staff clearly do a good job in here. The only complaint was about the Aztec Bistro (a separate place to the Hotel restaurant but within the complex). Food is very good and the range of drinks excellent. Prices are reasonable. The only issue is on the "2 for 1" nights, which were extended to Wednesdays (usually just Thursdays) for our stay. The food was good when it arrived, but a 2 hour wait (advised it would be an hour) is unacceptable. If you know you are going to be busy when you run a promotion, back it up with having more staff/capacity to cook the food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel. I am glad you had a great time and enjoyed the Hotel and Restaurant and my team looked after you so well.

I am sorry about the long wait in the Bistro. After speaking to the Bistro Manager I believe that we were overwhelmed with the success of the 2 for 1 dining offer and the amount of people eating in our Bistro over the Easter. He has informed me that this is now being addressed and has asked me to pass on his apologies for the wait. The Aztec Bistro has grown to become a really popular local dining venue and we are currently expending the Aztec area of the business, so hopefully on your next visit you will see these changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped here for three nights at easter after recommendations from family members. The rrom was clean if not a little dated but was on a floor that the lift didnt go to which made it difficult with a small toddler and a pushchair! The food for the adults was good and there was the option to pay extra for a la carte menu, however the kids food was limited as no salad and only one vegetable which seemed to be peas most of the time and processed food such as chicken nuggets and turkey dinosaurs!! The other option also seemed to be pasta based so we asked for a kids portion of something from the adults menu. The staff all seemed kind and helpful, and the receptionist was quick to remove a charge for a telephone call that was made to a local number from our room when we had been out of the room at the time at breakfast, very strange!! The facilities are very varied and the hotels altogether are vast so can make for allot of walking, the evening entertainment seems to be geared more to the older visitor as after 30 minutes of music for the kids we were Ssssshhhhddd..... constantly during bingo!! I think some were taking it a bit toooo seriously and it was advertised as a family night, but wasn't child friendly if they made a noise during bingo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.

During school holidays we gear a lot of the food and entertainment towards families and children and aim to ensure there is something for everyone.

Our Restaurant offers a children’s buffet with a couple of choices each night. There is always one home cooked option which is freshly prepared by our chefs and is something that you may cook at home like Cottage pie, jacket potatoes or Pasta. We also offer kids favourite meal option which is usually chicken nuggets or fish fingers and chips e.t.c As the children are on holiday most parents allow them to choose this once or twice during their stay as a treat. All children are welcome and encouraged to eat of the main menu which has another 4 main course options and a range of salads.

Our entertainment venue’s cater for all the types of guest on site and bingo is by far our most popular activity and understandably as people are playing for money they need to hear the numbers, so for the 30 minutes it is on we do ask for noise to be kept down. As well as lots of evening entertainment aimed at children and families we provide a full day package including aquajets, snorkelling, aqua ski’s, Zumba, ten pin bowling, indoor soft play area, football and gymnastics and a kids club run by our entertainments team.

I hope this feedback helps give a bigger picture of what we aim to offer to all our guests staying.

We hope to welcome you again to the Carlton Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked in for a weekend before moving onto Brixham with the family for an extended family weekend. However, the weather was way to cold where we were staying in Brixham so managed to get back into an apartment for the rest of the week. We had a great time here and the kids loved the pool and the rooms, and soft play area. It was clean and quiet. The food was great both breakfast and dinner with a good choice. The kids even had their own buffet to choose from if they did not want something on the menu. The staff were very accomadating and friendly. Great family hotel

Room Tip: Family room was great as was the apartment - second floor is good as you get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Our self-catering apartments offer flexibility and are a good alternative to standard hotel accommodation, I am glad you liked them.

We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon, when hopefully it will be a little warmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a lovely time here at the Charlton Hotel, the Rivera room was very nice, clean and quiet. The food was excellent and a very good choice at evening meal. The staff were very good, no complaints whats so ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a Rivera quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Carlton.

I am glad you enjoyed your dance break and hope to see you on another one in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

very helpful staff,room fine, food very pleasant, spa treatments excellent, free parking on site, good check in and check out facilities and times and able to leave luggage at reception after we checked out on second day

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback and I am glad you had a great time and managed to enjoy our Spa and other facilities on site.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing