We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the price we paid.”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just had five days at the Carlton in Torquay. Very good value for money. Rooms very basic but food and service was excellent. Aztec spa was excellent and we could use all facilities. Entertainment was also good would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel.

I am glad you were able to take advantage of using our great pool and spa facilities on site.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 616 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you want to celebrate a special occasion or even just want to chill out there is something for everyone at this unique location. The staff were both friendly and courtious and the restaurant manager (Steve) was particularly attentive as we requested a cake cutting service (no charge). As it was our 50th wedding anniversary he even organised the table napkins in a gold finish; such little touches as these were really appreciated.
The swimming pool proved to be a winner for all the members of our party. 10 pin bowling, snooker, pool; so many things going on you will be hard pressed trying to fill the hours in the day; then the evening entertainment in the starlight with Soul Music on Saturday night and KB Sounds on the following night, lovely.
We took our family on a two nights break at the Carlton Hotel 16th/18th Feb using their very well apppointed apartments, but eating in the restaurant it suited us down to the ground with our ages ranging from under 10 years through teenagers, 40 somethings; and us wrinklies celebrating our golden wedding anniversary. We were on the go from the moment we arrived till the time we said our farewells. We have feasted out on our stay at the Charlton located in the English Rivierra and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: As we booked the apartments for our breakaway we can say that they are roomy and comfortable with al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Many thanks for your review and congratulations!

Thank you for you kind comments about Steve and the rest of the team and I am glad they really looked after you and your family.

We have a lot of families staying with us for special celebrations and we always aim to make them extra special.

Thank you for also posting those great pictures of your apartment, it is great when guests take the time to share their photos of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had a lovely time in February half term with my daughter. Food was lovely and so was the accommodation for the price I paid. We had an ample sized, clean room and everything worked! Staff were helpful and friendly, pool was clean and warm and daughter didn't run out of things to do. Car park was always overflowing and it was difficult to get a space, but maybe that's a good sign! Wish we lived nearer so we could go more often to the Carlton.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your review on your half term break at the Carlton Hotel. I am glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the facilities and entertainment we offer.

We have a number of car parks on site and generally there are spaces somewhere. At peak times they can get busy, but our reception teams can always recommend places to park and do their best to ensure everyone has a space.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Carlton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Outstanding value. Friendly, helpful staff served excellent food in a well-decorated dining room. Large bedroom was ideal. We enjoyed the swimming pool and games room. We look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the swimming pools and games room.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Found the carlton hotel by chance looking for a short break for half term and after reading the reviews decided to book for 2 nights. We had a great time, plenty for the kids to do ( 8 & 6) which as a parent is a godsend! We were upgraded to a riveria room on arrival which was lovely and which came with a distant seaview , was a good size, clean and suitable for a family. The pool was lovely as was the jacuzzi and steam room and not too busy.
We booked for dinner, bed and breakfast and found the dining experience to be fantastic, the quality and quantity of the food was good and the kids were able to choose from the main menu if they wanted to. The staff were very cheerful, helpful and little touches were appreciated (The lovely lady who cleaned our room and arranged our daughter's and son's toys amusingly! which they loved!)
I would definitely recommend this hotel for its facilites, staff, food and fantastic value!.
We will return later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Carlton.

We have so much going on during school holidays for children that it is great for the parents like yourselves and I am glad they were kept occupied.

We look forward to welcoming you back again later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Carlton for 2 nights 16th feb, 2 adults and 4 children. We had a one bedroom apartment and a twin room for the 2 teenage girls. We couldn't fault it. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. We stayed on a half board basis and found the meals in the resturant excellent and a good variety for the kids as they could choose from the self service kids menu or something from the main menu. The staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The evening entertainment and leisure facilities also good. Excellent entertainment on Saturday evening from KB Sounds who managed to entertain a variety of age groups and the girls were up dancing most of the night. He certainly earned his money! We would definately stay there again it was very good value for money, friendly staff, good facilities. :)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Many thanks for your review on your stay with your family at the Carlton.

Our Apartments offer a great alternative to Hotel accommodation and give families like yourselves the flexibility of self-catering as well as being able to take advantage of the great facilities we offer and being able to book meals in the hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed the entertainment, KB sounds is one of our most popular entertainers and really does earn his money! Our own entertainments team are also really popular with guests and three times a week put on a great themed show, which is always worth watching.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here... Feb half term week....booked an apartment for the self catering option which was clean, well equipped & spacious. Was not aware of any banging doors or squeaking floorboards mentioned by others?... Staff lovely, helpful & competent....when we used the restaurant, service was excellent & food superb quality & quantity....
There was area in the corridor between the hotels that needed re plastering but it is being addressed so do not let others comments prevent you from booking this hotel!
All the TLH hotels & complex were excellent/very good & the facilities & entertainment is second to none....and I am an ardent traveller!!
If you are after charm & character then book your room @ the Victoria....which is, again, a lovely hotel with great staff.....all the hotels in the TLH group share the same leisure facilities & whilst there are some areas needing to be updated or renewed...overall....a great complex with lots of entertainment choices daily & nightly...great for adults & children....def returning late this year...thank you The Carlton & TLH for a lovely break....we'll be back...:-)))))

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1stBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay and for giving a great review highlighting everything that we offer at TLH Leisure resort.

The unique thing about us is that we have unrivalled leisure and entertainment facilities and there is something for everyone on site.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 86 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $117 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing