We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at The Carlton Hotel”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for the Twixmas Break at the Carlton 3* (2 adults & 2 children aged 13 & 3.) We had stayed previous before at the Derwent 2*, so finding our way around the TLH was not a problem. The facilities & enterntainment were great as usual, we had a family room which was very clean, however, just wished the towels were larger and the coffee at breakfast stronger. My sister, brother-in-law and Niece (aged 13 also) stayed at the Victoria 3*- their room was old fashioned and the bed was extremely hard and you could feel the springs - they did complain and the mattress was sorted! Staff were always pleasant and its certainly good value for money- would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. I am glad you had a great time at the Carlton.

We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 616 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Our second Christmas at the Carlton & probably our sixth visit overall. As always, the welcome was warm, the food and service excellent. Plenty to do, with a full entertainment programme & fantastic leisure facilities.
All twelve of our party were delighted & the staff could not have done anymore to ensure that this was the case. Thank you & we look forward to returning in 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LubLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you and your party all had a great time over Christmas and we hope to welcome you all back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A great holiday. We found every member if staff incredibly friendly and helpful above and beyond the call of duty. What a difference that makes to a guest. Great facilities, good food, excellent entertainment. We will be going back !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oatcake67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and I am pleased you had a great time with us.

I will pass your comments onto my team as they work so hard to look after our guests and it is great to get this fantastic feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had a lovely stay for three nights. Food was excellent each night and all staff friendly and helpful. Our children loved the pool and we were able to relax at night and enjoy the family friendly starlight lounge. Would recommend for a family get together or group holiday as well. We will be back x

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolllipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for your review on your twixmas break, I am glad you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you again for your 5th break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have just returned from a superb 4 night Christmas Package at the Carlton.

Thanks to the Carlton manager and all his staff it was really enjoyable. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and the food was out of this world. Our compliments to the chefs,it really was the best food we've had in a hotel.
Plenty of space in the dining room and the waiters/waitresses really efficient , especially Barbara who served our table most of the time.
The Manager and Restaurant manager were both interacting with all the guests and should be very proud of their well trained and dedicated team.

Our standard family room (121) had ample space,decent bathroom,beverage tray, hairdryer, telephone ,safe and TV. Extra pillows were delivered to room on request. The housekeeping team were friendly and on the ball.
The only problem we had was,despite the radiators not being on ,the room was unbearably warm which was made worse due to our window being broken and not able to be opened. The staff did try to rectify this by getting the maintenance man straight up on the Sunday and then the window company out to it the next day. Understandably with it being on a Christmas Eve and the mechanism needing to be replaced it couldn't be done until after the christmas period. We were given a fan for the room which did help a bit.


With all the extras laid on for christmas like mulled wine & mince pies on arrival,Bucks Fizz and a visit to Santas Grotto for a present on Christmas morning, Cocktails & Canapes with the Carlton team on Christmas Eve, Gala Boxing Night Buffet and a lot more it made for a really special break.

Entertainment was on in all 4 hotels and this time ,as well as the popular Starlight Lounge, we spent more time in The Riviera Lounge(Carlton) as the standard of artists was good.

The TLH entertainment team again excelled and visits to the indoor swimnming pool completed the holiday, especially the aqua-aerobics workout!

Having now stayed at all 4 hotels in the TLH complex , this first time at The Carlton has been our favourite and we will certainly choose this as our first preference for future holidays.

A word of warning if a coach party is in - The hotel has one lift which we didn't use , but when I did want to use it on our final morning to take the cases down to the car I was unable to use it as the porter was taking the coach party cases down in it all the time. He did help me down the stairs with one of the cases,but I had to struggle down the stairs with the rest.

Our Thanks to Lee Hammett and The Carlton Team for a wonderful christmas break . Hope to see you all again sometime next year :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for your review on your Christmas break. I am so glad you enjoyed it and it was a pleasure looking after you. We put a lot of effort into planning our Christmas and New Year breaks to give excellent value for money, great service, food and entertainment.

I am sorry we could not get the window fixed straight away and thank you for being understanding about this. I apologise for the lift being busy on departure day. It is one of our busiest departure days as guests have a lot of luggage and gifts so it is constantly in use.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Carlton, best wishes for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hi once again our visit to this top class hotel was all we expected good food, great service and a superb time. Thank you to all the boys and girls in the restaraunt and especially thank you to the very nice bar staff.
It's a shame that promises by the management are not kept ...........Re: Doors banging in the reception area. These doors are still banging loudly. Adjustments or replacements of the auto door closers would solve this instantly. This is still going on the quote from a previous review has not been responded to.

"CarltonMgt, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review
8 September 2012 Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you love coming to the Carlton.
I have not been made aware of this door issue before, I have asked my Maintenance Manager to investigate the doors and hopefully resolve this. Thank you for bringing it to my attention and I am sorry it disturbed you on this visit.

Maybe when we return it might be fixed ?.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for posting another review for the Carlton and for the great feedback on the team and Hotel.

I remember last year after reading your comments following this up with maintenance and they adjusted the door closers. We have not had any one else mention being able to hear doors banging since you raised this last year so I assumed the problem was rectified.

When you stayed this time you raised it again with the Duty manager and we replaced two door closers and put small sponges on all our public doors to eliminate any sounds.

I am sorry for this happening, but would like to assure you that I do read all comments on trip advisor and take action as we want all our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us.

I have put on your booking notes for future bookings not to allocate you the rooms over the public areas, so you will not be able to hear any noises from below.

Many thanks once again for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Carlton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our second visit to the Calton for a 2 day spa break and as the last time totally Brilliant.
The staff very helpful and friendly , the Breakfasts and Dinners excellent with more choice
this year , the treatments heaven and the use of the amazing pool/gym etc..the only critism was
that the jacuzzi was out of action which i normally love as it was in 2010 and that the massage beds in the Beauty spa lounge were not working as part of our package. there is a large proportion of retired people and the Entertainment appears to center around this age group but altogether the calton offers great value for your money,, thank you Calton !!

Room Tip: A sea view is perfect..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivershannon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your spa break at the Carlton. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry the Jacuzzi was out of operation, this was due to replacement of the steps which required it to be out of action for a couple of days. As we are open everyday of the year unfortunately it does mean taking it out of operation when we are open.

The massage beds are no longer being included as part of our spa packages and we will be re developing the relaxation area in the new year and have some exciting new treatments coming soon which I hope you will see on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 86 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $119 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing