We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly treat”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We come here every year as it is lovely and the kids think it is great. Staff are brilliant, Family rooms are really spacious and can fit all 5 of us in easily. Food is really good if you are staying for breakfast and evening meals. Facilities are excellent, we use the swimming pool and play area. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaGane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and the full 5 out of 5 scoring. It is always great to read such positive comments about all areas of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 619 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

A group of 52 of us stayed at this hotel for the weekend, a mixture of couples and families. We had use of all 4 hotels in the TLH complex. It is located about a 20 munite walk to the shops. There is a bus stop nearby the hotel too, plus the land train bus. We used the excellant pool and spa (elemis treatments, so it is very good). All of the staff very friendly and customer service appears to be a priority. We took the DBB option, so eat a hearty evening meal in the hotel, there was a good choice and plenty of food. The hotel room and bathroom were very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: The room at the back are quiet. Some have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wraxall_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay.

I am glad that the whole group had a great stay and enjoyed the food and service we offer.

We hope to welcome you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I organised a holiday for 30 members to the Carlton Hotel & everyone said it was the best hotel they had been to. The staff were helpful & pleasant. Good rooms, many with sea view & all warm when needed. The food was excellent with plenty of choice. The entertainments complex was very comprehensive with something for all. Plenty of areas (inside & out) for relaxing. We would all have liked to stay longer.

Una Plant........Social Secretary

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Una P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Many thanks Una for your kind comments, I am glad you and your group had a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Carlton is part of the TLH Complex in Torquay and is very well appointed, within easy reach of the main shopping area and harbour.
The staff are helpful and rooms are clean and spacious but the carpets on the stairways are in need of replacement.
Food and Entertainment is very good.
The main pool is shared with the other three hotels but is large to enough to accommodate this.
The steam room and Jacuzzi could do with a facelift.
Overall excellent value for money and recommended..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loftusw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable weekend break and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Pool area has lots to offer but is starting to look tired!!!

The jacuzzi needs cleaning & replacing but not necessarily in that order, lol...

The steam room smells nasty regularly, so needs eucalyptus adding more regularly please...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisisspartacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback on the Carlton Hotel and Spa.

The Aztec Pool and spa is a fantastic facility, there is nothing in the Torbay area that matches the facilities and service we offer. We are always reviewing what we offer and looking at adding and upgrading the current facilities.

I am pleased to say that this winter we will be expanding and re vamping our changing and shower areas. We do not have any plans scheduled to change the Jacuzzi, but we will be ensuring that the one we have is in working order and looked after.

I will pass on your feedback about the steam room essence to my Pools Manager to ensure we are constantly on top of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have spent a most enjoyable few days at the Carlton Hotel in Torquay. Friendly atmosphere and polite helpful staff. Clean modern refurbished room with plenty of storage . Excellent nightly entertainment and indoor pool in other hotel which we could use. We only stayed bed and breakfast but next time would have the evening meal. The breakfast was good offering ample choice and the staff wer very obliging. Well located. Would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Many thanks for your review of the Carlton Hotel.

I am glad you had an enjoyable break and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I recently booked a short break at the Carlton Hotel.It was our first visit to the TLH leisure resort and we did not know what to expect although a friend who is a regular visitor said we would not be disappointed.
We thoroughly enjoyed this break and would not hesitate to return.The Carlton we are told is the quieter of the four hotels comprising this complex and we had a room with a sea view.We specifically wanted a hotel with evening entertainment and the fact that guests can use the facilities at the other hotels on the complex is an added bonus..
The Carlton "ticked all the boxes" with the best food we have had in a hotel backed up with pleasant staff providing pleasant and attentive service.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidabbott654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your first visit to the Carlton Hotel. I am pleased you had a great time and loved the hotel, service and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,498 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $104 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing