We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at hotel”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went to a wedding at the Carlton hotel and I can only say what a brilliant day. The venue was brilliant, the staff were so attentive and polite and the food was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without a doubt. If you are looking for a wedding venue, THIS IS THE PLACE.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy Lyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to put your review on trip advisor.

It is nice to get a review from a guest at a wedding. We take a lot of pride in our weddings and offer a great package and have had a great summer season of wedding this year.

Thank you for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 616 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

A great place to take the children/grandchildren. Our two eldest grandchildren talk about the next holiday as soon as we leave for home, now the youngest two are wanting to have their own breaks. If the weather is not for the beach then there is the indoor pool or play area. The sea front is easy walking and the town centre only 15 minutes away strolling. Beds comfortable and rooms serviced well, meals are good although some of the youngsters menus are disappointing. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice to satisfy from the youngest to the oldest. Staff are excellent and attentive.

Room Tip: Roms overlooking the pool and Torbay are good, brilliant if something like the Red Arrows are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

I am glad you and your grandchildren enjoyed your summer break with us and they are already looking forward to their next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have just returned from a line dancing weekend which was organized by Kingshill Holidays and based at the Carlton Hotel Torquay. I had a lovely room overlooking the swimming pool and a lovely sea view. Meals were great, the waiting staff were all lovely and extremely helpful. All in all a great place to stay and I hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Seaview room was not overlooked at all. I would love to get that again next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback.

I am pleased you had a great first stay with the Kingshill group and we hope you will come back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the second time I have been to the Carlton, and it is still as good as I remember!
Everything about the place is great, yes it needs a bit of a redecorate in places, but it is clean and everything you need is there.
The staff are second to none, they are friendly and will go out of their way to help, no matter what. Especially the restaurant staff, who were prompt and polite and chatted with the residents.
The food was incredible and was happy to say that my children cleared their plates every night.
We will be back!!!

Room Tip: worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyjb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Many thanks for the great review ,it is always good to read such positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our umpteenth visit to the Carlton and once again a really nice time. We were in one of the Riveara rooms with a lovely view. As we had been here so often we encouraged friends to come along. Their room unfortunately was directly above reception. We had a room there at least six years ago.

We noticed the constant door banging coming from below. The doors to the Gents, Ladies, Exit, and Restaraunt all bang very loudly due to poor adjustment of the automatic door closers. When we were above the area I did ask if they could be adjusted. All that was done was a short strip of spong draught excluder was stuck on the corner of the door. This lasted about two hours.

It would then appear that over six years, (we have noticed) NOTHING has been done to cure the problem.

Maybe when we return to this excellent hotel, something might be done to cure the banging. Come on guys it's just a simple adjustment. Our friends didn't complain they are not the sort. They did however tell us they won't be returning .... shame really.

Room Tip: Book a second floor front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you love coming to the Carlton.

I have not been made aware of this door issue before, I have asked my Maintenance Manager to investigate the doors and hopefully resolve this.

Thank you for bringing it to my attention and I am sorry it disturbed you on this visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Have just returned from a mid week break at the Carlton with daughter and grandchildren. Find it hard to believe that such a gem of a hotel at such an affordable price still exists in England. Both the quality of food and service from all the staff were excellent. So much for the children to do that we will definately have to go back to finish doing everything. Thanks to all concerned for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Bedrooms can get very warm but fans can be had from reception for a small deposit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brimar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay.
I am glad you have a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having stayed at the carlton several times we felt that it was not quite the same.as usual.
We were with our grandchildren who were in a family with their father. They were on the second floor, their room was so hot that they were unable to sleep. The window in the room didn't open very far (rightly so in a family room ) and there were no fans available as they were all out. This affected the childrens holiday as they were so tired most of the time.
Also we felt that the restaurant had cut the dinner menu to much.We realise that hotels have to make savings but found most of the menus uninspiring. Breakfast and the childrens dinner menus for absolutely fine. Unfortunately we felt unable to book for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay.

The week you stayed we had a few days of very warm weather in Torquay, the sash bedroom windows do have limiters on to stop them opening all the way up as we have a lot of children staying and their safety is our priority. I apologise that we did not have a fan available for you.

Our summer menus are very similar to last years and we have only introduced a couple of new dishes this year. We aim to offer a good quality home cooked menu with something for everyone I am sorry if you were disappointed. If there was any specific dish you felt was not up to usual standard, please contact me at the hotel and let me know, we always welcome guest feedback to help us continually improve what we offer.

I am sorry you are not re booking at this stage, however I hope that in the future you will consider coming back to the Carlton Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 86 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $119 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing