We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue & Tony "Thank goodness the weather was fine"”

Gresham Court Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gresham Court Hotel
Ranked #60 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sue & Tony "Thank goodness the weather was fine"”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After staying at this hotel, we can only say how relieved we were to get home!
Rooms were dated and dirty, holes in the door and walls of our room. Our shower did not drain away properly. Food was repetitive and evenings meals you were asked to choose whilst still eating your breakfast. As nearly all our coach party had mobility problems, it certainly is not a suitable hotel. All meals served down a basement access stairs are step and narrow. After using the lift you end up walking through the kitchen. No phones in rooms in case of emergency so keep your mobile on charge! We felt it was run on a shoestring, the host did not have any people skills especially if presented with a problem, such as out of date drinks.
We could not fault the driver Steve, nothing was to much trouble, he was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
peterborough uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the food excellent, hot and well cooked [none of this modern 'al dente' nonsense]. Helen and David worked tirelessly and could not do enough for us but I did feel that they could do with a bit more help, to ease their workload if nothing else.
Many of the people in our group are 'mobility challenged' and although we were told the hotel was disabled friendly we did not find it particularly so. There was a lift but on almost every floor when leaving the lift it did involve either going up or down a number of steps, particularly when going down to the dining room, and many of our group found this very difficult, although I have to add that the staff were always there willing to give a helping hand if needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

just returned from the gresham court hotelwith my sis i spesk for us both helen and david are without doubt the best hosts ii have met and have become good friends their hotel is spottless rooms are great the food is brilliaht david and helen cannot do enough for you nothing is to much trouble we also met a great crowd of people from peterborough entertainment is great we had a brilliant time and we will be back

Room Tip: all the rooms look good there are ground floor rooms if you are less mobil but also a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickrichards123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from our stay at the Gresham with my group. The rooms were very good it was the best nights sleep I have had for a long time. David and Helen were lovely hosts and couldn't do enough to make our holiday. Most of the entertainment was top quality. The service was good and the food good. The only fault the hotel is on a hill but a regular bus service takes you to the centre.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top which was very quiet and there was a lift to each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife, daughter and I have just returned from The Gresham Court Hotel. We travelled with David Urquhart the driver Wayne was excellent but coach not too comfortable. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the proprierters Helen and David who could not have been more welcoming and friendly. The service was excellent throughout, the entertainment first class and the food was superb. We would recommend them to anybody and cannot wait to return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyChris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

just returned from a trip to Torquay stayed here with David Urquhart ,not the best journey but the roads were the problem.The hotel is ok beds and pillows very comfortable,i was disappointed it was up a big hill as i like a walk after evening dinner not the best situation for me .Helen couldn't do enough i think she got her work cut out with David though ,food is basic i did not see vegetarian option only salad.Entertainment for us was two days Mon and Thursday .Tues and Wed we had to walk down the hill for a walk into Torquay to find any more entertainment.i don't think it was any good for the people who were disabled in our party.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northants55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just back from five day break with my two sisters, at the gresham court hotel torquay.no complaits at all. David and Helen were first class. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. entertainment was really good. The location was excellent just down the road 5 minutes to the harbour. The meals were excellent and plenty of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#73 of 87 in Torquay
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Court Hotel

Property: Gresham Court Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Rd., Torquay TQ1 1HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Torquay
Number of rooms: 203
Also Known As:
Gresham Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing