We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Friendly Welcome”
Review of Frognel Hall Hotel

Frognel Hall Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frognel Hall Hotel
Ranked #54 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stayed there is December 2010; the hosts could not have been more welcoming or hospitable. The place is well run and efficient with all necessary amenities to hand. It is in a good location for exploring Torbay area and I am looking forward to my next stay there - good value for money also.
Mark - Central London

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkAubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2011

we stayed at frognel hall for their christmas special. when we arrived we were greeted very warmly. the rooms are very nice food was excellent. the owners stephen and amanda were always available and quite often would join us having a drink in the bar. it`s about a 10 minute walk from town. we enjoyed it so much that we have booked to stay there again for christmas 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We have just returned from our Christmas break at Frognel Hall Hotel, Torquay . This being our third Chritmas at Frognel Hall Hotel and as usual we had a great time. This was mainly due to our hosts, being so friendly and acommdating. Nothing was too much trouble.
Great homely atmosphere with a real log fire, good evening entertainment, cosy and comfortable bedrooms and excellent home cooked food.
Have already booked for next Christmas !

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Great friendly hotel ,great location
with good local bus service if you want a day with out a car .
good food ,very good value for money.
rooms a little tired !!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Excellent hotel in quiet area but also close to Torquay harbour, Meadfoot beach and all other attractions. Steven and Amanda, the owners, were perfect hosts. The room overlooked the harbour and was very comfortable and to a clean standard throughout the stay. Breakfast and evening meals had a superb menu, great choices and cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Owners really pleasant and helpful, the ideal hosts. Our little dog enjoyed the beautifully kept gardens and soon settled into the room although it was not part of the main hotel, unfortunately dogs are not allowed in the main hotel public rooms. The food is well prepared and compares favourably with 3* quality although choosing our main course at breakfast was a minus.
The Hotel is situated on a fairly steep hill so people with walking difficulties might have problems although there is a bus service at the bottom of the road.
All in all a pleasant hotel, reasonably priced with careing owners.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Steve and Amanda are the perfect host and hostess. We were greeted like old friends and the ambience remained relaxed - we were well looked after, well fed (first-class chef) and the well stocked bar encouraged relaxation after dinner.

Frognel is a short walk from the centre of Torquay with the added bonus of free exercise climbing up the hill if one did not wish to take the bus!

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was very clean with regular changes of towels.

We would like to have stayed longer and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepperZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 86 in Torquay
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 86 in Torquay
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#56 of 86 in Torquay
860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 86 in Torquay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frognel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frognel Hall Hotel

Address: Higher Woodfield Road, Torquay TQ1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#28 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $88 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frognel Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Frognel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frognel Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing