We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Annex Room for ourselves and Westie Dog”
Review of Frognel Hall Hotel

Frognel Hall Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frognel Hall Hotel
Ranked #57 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Owners really pleasant and helpful, the ideal hosts. Our little dog enjoyed the beautifully kept gardens and soon settled into the room although it was not part of the main hotel, unfortunately dogs are not allowed in the main hotel public rooms. The food is well prepared and compares favourably with 3* quality although choosing our main course at breakfast was a minus.
The Hotel is situated on a fairly steep hill so people with walking difficulties might have problems although there is a bus service at the bottom of the road.
All in all a pleasant hotel, reasonably priced with careing owners.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 119 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

Steve and Amanda are the perfect host and hostess. We were greeted like old friends and the ambience remained relaxed - we were well looked after, well fed (first-class chef) and the well stocked bar encouraged relaxation after dinner.

Frognel is a short walk from the centre of Torquay with the added bonus of free exercise climbing up the hill if one did not wish to take the bus!

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was very clean with regular changes of towels.

We would like to have stayed longer and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepperZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Very nice hotel located away from the main town of Torquay, the manager/owner was a great host - very friendly and genuinely interested in speaking with you. Rooms were a little small and decoration slightly dated but clean and airy. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishguy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We wanted a peaceful location, within striking distance of the resort and this is exactly what we got at Frognel Hall. The welcome was warm and accomodating and our every need catered for. The service was personal with attention to detail.
The hotel has a well kept landscaped garden and terrace (with views of the bay) and we enjoyed evening drinks as well as mid-morning coffees there. The room was clean and airy and pleasant to be in.
The sea front and marina is easily within reach as are the coastal walks and local beaches. It proved to be a great base for exploration.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quickrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeanine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
671 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#59 of 87 in Torquay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frognel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frognel Hall Hotel

Address: Higher Woodfield Road, Torquay TQ1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#28 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $82 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frognel Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Frognel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frognel Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing