We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frognel Hall Hotel

Frognel Hall Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frognel Hall Hotel
Ranked #64 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
alfreton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just back from another Christmas and New year at Frognel hall. it is impressive that the standards are consistently high, Many places vary from visit to visit, but Frognel is always to the same high standard. Entertainment over this period was very good.The owners, Steven and Amanda have the ability to make every guest feel that they are the most important people to ever enter the Hotel. There are helpful, but not obtrusive, a rare skill. Freshly prepared food from local sources and comfortable surroundings make for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The public rooms have had some redecoration recently and the gardens are as attractive as ever, We have already booked two more holidays there!

Room Tip: All are good, ask for your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wareham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited Frognel Hall in 2011 and decided we would go back in 2012 and we were not disappointed. This time 18 of us visited this great hotel for another Murder Mystery Weekend at the end of November. The rooms were clean and food was great, everything was so good that we are looking at planning to visit again in 2013. Stephen and Amanda who own the hotel were fantastic in helping me to organise the weekend and I had 100% confidence in their suggestions. We chose to pay extra and have a singer/entertainer on the Friday evening, this went down well with the group. We then again had a Murder Mystery evening on the Saturday night which was enjoyed by all. The weather for the weekend was terrible, but this did not stop us enjoying another lovely weekend at Frognel Hall. Thank you Stephen & Amanda for making it such a good weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justvisiting58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel was clean and tidy although a little dated (we stayed in "nannys room) and could do with a bit of mondernisation, rooms got very cold during the night and the constant heat clicking on and off was a bit of annoying.
The owners are very friendly and helpful, we stayed dinner bed and breakfast.
The evening meal was ok food all warm and fresh, breakfast could be improved but ok (toast was a bit like tesco value bread)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Every year (or at least for the last two years) we make it a point to go to Torquay during the Agatha Christie Festival. We're (mostly me) such big fans and this is a great way to get your fix. This year we decided to stay at the Frognel Hall Hotel because they offered a fantastic two night package which included 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, a murder mystery interactive play and of course a lovely room. All for an absolute bargain price!!

We can't say enough nice things about this place. Frognel Hall sits on top of the hill on an enormous estate and is one of the prettiest Victorian mansions I've ever seen. Very tastefully decorated (in some parts) but in some others it's a bit dated. I can guarantee you that it makes no difference at all because the atmosphere, location, tranquillity of it all makes up for anything it might be lacking in way of décor. The owners, Stephen and Amanda were extremely helpful, cheerful and always available to help out. We unfortunately arrived late on Friday night because we hit the motorway parking lot from London - otherwise known as the M3 - and got in just after 8:00 which meant we missed most of dinner. Amanda was kind enough to offer to make us something but we decided to go into town instead.

The dining room is quite pleasant and large - typical design for a B&B. The lounges and sitting rooms are also quite large and you wouldn't struggle to find a place to sit even with the hotel being full. Our room was called Sarah's Room (??I think), and although it was a very spacious, clean and nicely decorated room, it wasn't as nice as some of the others. Having said that though, we weren't fussed about it in the least as we hardly spent any time in there over the weekend. All you need to know is that it was clean, bright, and unbelievably quiet.

The meals (both breakfast and dinner) were very nice. Big portions and quite tasty. Service was phenomenal, always with a smile and very eager to cater to every request.

The murder mystery was absolutely the campest, funniest, most entertaining thing I'd seen in a long time. It made the weekend so much more fun!! We'll definitely do another murder mystery there again!!! At the end of the murder mystery, after all the guests had retired for the night, we decided to stay back and have another bottle of wine and were pleasantly joined by Stephen. We had such a fantastic night, sharing stories, having a great laugh and some good wine.

Any other time we go to Torquay we will most definitely stay here again and again. We highly recommend it to everyone!!! This hotel deserves more stars than it has. Beautiful location, beautiful building, great hosts, and only a few minutes walk from Meadfoot Bay or the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kookie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Was looking for a dog friendly place to stay, part of my husbands birthday surprise to see red arrows, Good old fashion homely place to stay, room was large & comfortable, lovely garden, good breakfast, Stephen & Amanda very helpful & friendly gave good info on short cuts into town & dog walks. A lovely get away from it all place to stay, we did feel a little guilty having to ring bell for service in the bar when the owners were busy with dinner guest, apart from that worth a visit!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel feels more like a bed & breakfast. It is spacious, extremely quiet- I have had the most peaceful nights sleep consistently at this establishment than at ANY other hotel in my life! The hosts are very pleasant and very helpful.
This hotel is highly recommended but please be aware that the fixtures and fittings are, I'm afraid, all rather tired. The carpet in our room (Nanny's) was grubby and although the room were tidied every day; I did notice, however, that the same screwed- up paper remained near the desk for four days in a row. A trifle criticism considering the peacefulness and good service from the owners.
The bar is not attended to and one has to ring the bell near reception for service. This feels a little awkward especially when one learns that the owners are busy in the kitchen preparing evening meals. It just isn't comfortable to order and drink in the bar because one feels one is "troubling" the owners.\Don't mistake me- the owners do not make you feel this way at all- its just that one cannot help get the impression that they are a little too busy to serve at their own bar.
I would recommend this hotel but it does need work. It needs a fair bit of modernising to bring it up to top notch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have recently returned from our second extremely enjoyable weeks holiday at Frognel Hall Hotel.
Stephen and Amanda were once again fantastic hosts who do everything they can to ensure their guests have an enjoyable stay.
As with our previous stay our room was spotlessly clean with extremely comfortable beds.
Once again we chose to have dinner in the hotel as the food is of a very high standard with some truly memorable dishes, compliments and thanks to Aaron the chef.
Breafast was also first class.
Thank you Stephen and Amanda we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Eddie and Sue,Polegate East Sussex.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#16 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#47 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frognel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frognel Hall Hotel

Property: Frognel Hall Hotel
Address: Higher Woodfield Road, Torquay TQ1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frognel Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Frognel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frognel Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing