We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming family run hotel, great service”
Review of Sea Point Hotel

Sea Point Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Point Hotel
Ranked #112 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for the night en-route to our holiday in Devon and chose this hotel and booked through Late Rooms. We usually stay in chain hotels so this is my first experience of a seaside family run hotel so I was unsure what to expect but it was lovely. It is situated about a 10 minute walk from town. We were greeted cheerfully by the owner who showed us around, where our table would be for breakfast and where the residents bar is. We booked a family room for 3 of us plus had space for our cot which we brought ourselves. The hotel is a charming and character building with large staircases and very modern, spotlessly clean, bright and airy room. Dave took our order for breakfast on arrival and he offers a vegetarian hot breakfast which most chain hotels don't. There was even a booster seat for the little one. Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. It is only served between 8.30-9am which is a little restricting but very good nonetheless. The only difficult thing is parking - there are only limited spaces outside the hotel - you can park a little walk away is you don't get a space but I guess there is only as much room as there is space at the front of the building. Overall we really enjoyed our stay - it was much more interesting and personal that staying at non-descript chain hotels and I would definitely recommend. The service was exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clubfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Sea Point Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

my fiancee and i have just returned from a 4 night stay. we had a lovely week at the sea point and will hope when we return our stay will be as good as this one. we stayed in the superior double room which when we walked in smelt fresh and airy. the bed was comfy and the en suite has a bath which my fiancee lived in!! breakfast was very tasty with cereals and fresh grapefruit available. once or twice we didnt want cooked so dave had no problem doing boiled eggs instead! i have read a review from 'cakemate' who seems to get the hump rather easily. if the so called 'steep' stairs cause you a problem i would suggest you go and stay in a bungalow because they were not. as for the tv its on a mantlepiece not a shelf and was perfectly watchable. did you actually stay to watch it? and how long do you want for breakfast? isnt 30 mins long enough for you to get down those steep stairs!!! not quite sure why there was no privacy for you with the louvre doors! they shut,they lock and you cant see through. its a grade II listed building not a premier inn!!! this was our 1st visit to the sea point and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seap0int, Owner at Sea Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback - I know you booked on the strength of the previous good reviews so we are delighted that you enjoyed the stay.
Kim & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just come back from a night at the Sea Point Hotel and can't wait for our return visit!
The B&B is in the perfect location, tucked away so you are not disturbed by the crazy night life but no more than a 10 minute walk to it all.
Yes the actual parking is a little limited however, the owner Dave was out straight away getting us organised. He made us feel extremely welcome, showing us the great bar he has and making sure we had everything we needed.
We had a room on the top floor which had an en-suite shower. It was compact but ideal for our purposes. The bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and we were not disturbed by any other guests.
Before heading out for the evening we had a drink (or two!) in the bar with Dave and his wife Kim before heading to a great restaurant Dave had recommended.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious and then Dave helped us sort out where we were heading to next (we were on a biking trip) - he was even patient with us while we kept changing our minds about whether we were going to leave our gear in his lounge whilst we explored or take it with us and our bikes into Torquay centre.
Thanks Dave and Kim for your hospitality - hopefully we can hear more of your adventures in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammiethekat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seap0int, Owner at Sea Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thanks for your comments- glad you enjoyed your stay as we did your company. Look forward to discussing more of your biking adventures when you return.
We have followed up your suggestion of the fan- much appreciated by the next family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

From the moment we pulled up outside the Sea Point I had a bad feeling... only 4 parking spaces available for 7 rooms.... so we ended up parking a way down the road. We had booked via Booking.com last minute after our prior arrangements had fallen through.
We were met by the owner, who checked us in and then proceeded to take our breakfast order (at 6pm at night) we were then taken down some very steep stairs to show us the Bar..to which he added ' Don't expect a late one...we shut after the last guest has gone out for dinner!' .... then to the dining room ' this is your table and your breakfast slot is 8.30-9am' ... We felt like we were in school not a hotel and after a day of driving we just wanted to get to our room and chill.
We were told our room was a superior room...not sure why! it was small, dull and depressing.... the 22in flat screen TV was sat on a shelf facing the opposite direction to the bed making it impossible to watch, the decor was dated and cluttered with dark brown painted woodwork and the 'piece de resistence' were the open louvre doors to the en suite bathoom... no privacy there then!....There was no way we could stay...so we left only to be greeted by a 'No Show' email by Booking.com a couple of days later... we were definitely there but I can I can assure you we wont be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cakemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Owner at Sea Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

A random review left by someone that did not stay here, these comments do not apply to this property, unfortunately anybody can leave a review on TripAdvisor with out actually staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A charming bed and breakfast.

Run by the owners who really take pride in their hotel and make you feel right at home. It is a very charming boutique hotel in a quiet location. The hotel is exactly what we after to explore Torquay and would recommend it to anyone looking to get away for the weekend. Would recommend it to any friends looking for a hotel and will be staying their again if we ever head back to Torquay.

Great value for money and a yummy breakfast to boot!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Fantastic B&B in a great location an ideal base for exploring Torquay. Dave the owner is a good host and also very helpful, even phoning me when he missed my call, to give us directions.The bar is excellent with well priced drinks and a very good juke box. The room was ice and clean with a very comfy bed and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathroom was of a good size and spotlessly clean. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

A great find. The property has loads of great period features and the owner is very genuine and helpful. Breakfast was very tasty! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dg_images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 87 in Torquay
592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#56 of 149 in Torquay
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Point Hotel

Address: Old Torwood Road, Torquay TQ1 1PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $95 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sea Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Point Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing