We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience - well worth a repeat visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good experience - well worth a repeat visit”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

2 family rooms - brother, sister-in-law, 2 little ones and me for 4 nights = £348, considerably less than several other hotels researched. Never stayed at a Premier Inn before so didn't know quite what to expect but very pleasantly surprised: rooms were a good size (room for travel cot and buggy, tho one room had better use of space due to layout) and were clean and fittings all in good condition. Alongside main road near to sea but no problems with traffic noise. No noise problems from other rooms or corridors. Breakfast not included in room price - choice of Premier or Continental can be paid each morning - good choice available and plenty on offer - eat your fill! We had breakfast on site twice and enjoyed both times. Evening menus not really my style -what we had was fine tho a bit pricey for what it was - too much fried food and chips, not enough salad and veg for my taste. Busy and noisy on the Fri night due to political conference in town but seemed less so on other evenings, tho we ate elsewhere on other days. Definitely happy to stay again tho would eat elsewhere other than breakfast. Good parking. Staff friendly and helpful. Small niggle that towels were changed even when left on the rail for re-use, per the instruction - don't give me the option and then ignore my choice! Soap and shower gel provided, in dispensers, but you do need to take shampoo and other bits which are often provided - I believe that if you do forget anything essential you can ask at reception and they will provide - perfectly happy with that arrangement as I usually take my own anyway! Hairdryer, kettle etc all provided as usual.

Room Tip: There are rooms with connecting doors available, should you wish. Bit of a walk to get to some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    619
    215
    88
    47
See reviews for
595
873
53
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

As always with a premier inn, the standard was generally good here. Rooms were the same as in any premier inn, with good facilities. Bit odd how reception is laid out and even though it was raining hard, we were not told that we could access our rooms through a side door and through a long corridor to the room, but were told the best way to the room was the door round by the car park. We were in room 512 which overlooked the car park. Nothing wrong with the room itself which was clean and comfortable but I did have to ask at reception for a mattress topper as the bed was uncomfortable as we were both able to feel ridges and springs under the sheet. We were offered a duvet under the sheet, which did the job adequately and we did sleep better on the second night. The best thing about this particular premier inn was the position on the seafront with easy access to both the promenade and town. Apparently there is not enough parking at the inn, and at busy times, it may be necessary to park in the council's car park which is annexed, but you will have to pay for the privilege to park overnight, adding to the cost of your stay.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pootlepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife, sister and 2 children under 4. Rooms good size and in great condition. Quiet too. Location good and free parking on site.

We ate breakfast twice which was good. Food on site is a Beefeater which is "ok".

Would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-mare
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed and the hotel just gets better.
Very clean and tidy with friendly staff.
It is close to the beach and if you walk up the hill for 5 minutes you are in the high street.
We would recommend this to anyone,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy_Osborne, Manager at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Mikem1664,
I am pleased that we continue to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are in such a good location to access all that Torquay has to offer and with the recent good weather maybe even a trip just across the road to stroll on the beach! I hope that you will continue to book with Premier Inn when you visit Torquay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The double room in which we stayed was extremely noisy from the air conditioning unit in the room. On asking to swap rooms, they appeared unsurprised by the problem, and we were told the only other room available had an even noisier air conditioning unit. They offered to switch it off, which they did, and went into the back room at Reception and provided us with an electric heater to put in our room. This was not our first trip to this hotel, and the same thing happened to one of our party last year.
On the third day, we had no mugs left in the room for our coffee, and only one glass, which was badly chipped at the top. The Reception staff did however replace them with full apologies.
The room was otherwise comfortable, and the hotel good value for money.
Note: this hotel provides no extras such as small blocks of soap, guest shampoo/conditioner, tissues, cotton buds, shower cap. So bring your own.

Room Tip: When booking your room, ask for one without a noisy air conditioning unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I had been looking forward to this trip especially a night in the premier inn everything was perfect untill I got into bed it was so hard I felt like I was sleeping on the floor ruined my whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilkley
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Old building right on the sea front just 10 minutes walk to centre of Torquay. Beach across road. Park to side. Large car park free to residents. Meals in Beef Eater adjacent. we booked half board on a special deal of just £69 per night for the 2 of us. Don't do it. The choice for 4 nights was boring. Buy from main menu. Make sure you pre book a time for the meal because the restaurant is very busy.

Room Tip: Our room was a family room which was very large for just 2 of us. 2 armchairs, sofa bed, large doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanilkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#34 of 87 in Torquay
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Torquay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Torquay Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road | Seafront, Torquay TQ2 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Torquay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a listed building set on the glorious Torquay coastline, with amazing views of the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Torquay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Torquay
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing