We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in June. We had constant issues with not being able to access our room with the card key. We missed one trip we had planned to make because of it. The worst part was being locked out of our room up to nearly 1.00am one night as the staff said the batteries were gone on our door lock and the door could not be opened. We sat in the lobby late at night for nearly two hours. The staff couldnt care less about how concerned we were getting and seemed completely untrained in basic customer care. We would not stay again as its a serious safety risk we feel not being able to access medication or possessions that may be essential in ones hotel room. Also overpriced, the rooms have a depressing feel to them and the corridors smell dank and musty.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mariam451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Torquay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but be assured that the incident will be investigated to ensure it does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review; we sincerely hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,855 - 1,861 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by how good this Premier Inn was. The location is fantasic, right on the seafront and only a short walk to the town centre. The hotel was very clean, we stayed in the newer part. We stayed in a family room and there was plenty of room for the four of us. Even managed to use the on site parking which was a bonus in Torquay as it can be quite busy during holidays. Will definitely look out for the excellent Premier Inn offers which can make this hotel a bargain for this location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlj2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the newer part of the building. All looking modern and clean the only issue was noise from the floor above the walls are thin and you can hear others footsteps and noise.

The food was great and the bed very comfortable all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAT0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We make regular trips to Cornwall and usually break the journey at the Travelodge in Paignton but this time we opted for the Premier Inn at Torquay, and we are so glad we did. Right on the sea front with only a short walk to the lovely town of Torquay ( and the best pub in town, The Hole in the Wall). Room spotless, aircon was noisy but the response from reception was excellent. We expected parking problems but this wasn't an issue, there were always spaces.
We didn't eat at the hotel, an excellent breakfast is available at the nearby Wetherspoons for a lot less money and in the evening there are plenty of restaurants in the town worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just had a 4 night stay in Torquay Pemier with my husband and two young sons (6 & 4). The Premier Inn was in a perfect location opposite the beach, near to town, shops and restaurants. Bus stop also close by that takes you into Paignton within 15-20 mins.

The family room (618) is huge with a large bed for me and hubby and two singles for the boys - still lots of room for them to play. View was fab - could see over the harbour, sea and beach. This is the second time we have stayed in this room and would book it again! As always it was spotlessly clean and Terry our housekeeper was very helpfull and friendly - he also gave us extra tea/coffee supplies as we tend to be tea bellys!

Breakfast was excellent value for money as the 4 of us ate like kings every morning for £16.50 per day! We would not have been able to get continental and full english options for this price anywhere else! We didnt need lunch - just the usual holiday snacks like ice cream and other nice stuff until tea time so it really helped with the rest of the food budget.

We did have an evening meal at the Beefeater one evening and the food was very good. Service could have been better but this was due to lack of staff - good luck to them this week as it is the main half term week!! This wouldnt put me off eating here again but I would aim to avoid peak times.

All in all we really enjoyed our holiday and cant fault the hotel at all. Local trips for young children include Dinosaur World (as you can imagine our boys loved this), harbour boat trips, The Steam Train from Paignton to Kingswear, The Play Cafe (indoor soft play), Geoplay Park in Paignton - and much more that we couldnt fit into the 4 day break. The walk round the town bit is lovely too with the fountains, gardens and marina.

Roll on our next holiday there :o)

Room Tip: If you are a family room 618 is perfect - at the top of the building and end of corridor so no passi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beanyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed one night wished it could have been more hotel staff extremely helpful. food next door offered good value and the breakfast was excellent. Location of this hotel is wonderful for an evening stroll along the marina. Will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

As with all Premier Inn's, you know what you will get before you arrive, clean rooms, comfy beds, wifi, tv, onsite restaurant, BUT this one IS different.

As well as all of the expected Premier Inn comforts, this is ON THE BEACH, in an amazing location, with excellent vies of Torquay bay and over to the pier and harbour.

I stayed on business, and I will be returning to enjoy this with my wife.

I like a 5 star Spa retreat, but when the sun is shining, this must be one of the best hotels in the UK.

Room Tip: Phone ahead and ask for a south facing sea view room in either the new block, or the original hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Torquay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Torquay Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road | Seafront, Torquay TQ2 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
#14 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $60 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Torquay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a listed building set on the glorious Torquay coastline, with amazing views of the English Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Torquay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Torquay
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing