We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top class dog friendly cottage.”

Review of Magnolia House 1

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anndavies...
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Top class dog friendly cottage.”
Reviewed April 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely comfortable cottage with everything you need. The village is really dog friendly and the walks are superb . The cottage is situated in Cockington village where the walk to Torquay is under a mile.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2018
Thank you very much for reviewing us and we agree the walks around here are really special. One small, well behaved dog is very welcome here in either Mallock cottage or Magnolia House 1, but we reserve Magnolia House 2 for those without dogs. Paula & Leon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P N
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed February 28, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Lovely cottage and welcoming hosts.
We stayed there so that we could get married at Torbay Registry Office.
Will return and stay here again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2018
Hi Paul, thanks for reviewing us. Could be your anniversary retreat! Hope to see you again,
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaityTay
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Idyllic! Perfect Accommodation.”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I had the privilege of staying in Cockington Cottages in September 2017 for 10 days. The accommodation was exceptionally comfortable and peacefully quiet. I never wanted or needed for anything, and Paula was great - always available for any questions I had. The location of the cottage is idyllic; set in the picture-perfect village of Cockington. I loved exploring the area on my morning walks, both into the country park and down to the beachfront. I most definitely will be back! Thank you for everything, Paula. Your hospitality made my stay all the more memorable.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
Dear Caitlyn, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage suited your needs so well. We look forward to seeing you again, Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
13bees
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing get away cottage.”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is not our first time at Lanscombe House, but it was our first time in Magnolia cottage1. A great welcome from Leon and Paula, with the cottage providing all facilities we needed for our stay. Cottage is in a superb location of cockington village and within a short distance to Torquay, Paington and Brixham. We are already looking at booking another week! We will definitely be booking Magnolia cottage 2 when its finished!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Dear Martin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Magnolia 1. We're so glad you enjoyed it. We're looking forward to seeing you again. Paula & Leon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“5 star accommodation , 5 star location”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The accommodation at Magnolia House 1 was first rate. Very tastefully furnished with all the amenities you need. The location is superb with country walks on your doorstep but only 6/7 minutes on a wooden boardwalk through woods to the sea front , beaches and the promenade into Torquay. Paula was a very welcoming and helpful host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Hello James,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
I'm very pleased that you and Christine enjoyed your stay here and I hope to see you both again.
Kind regards,
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenGC20...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect and peaceful”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked a weekend away to celebrate my 30th birthday; we wanted somewhere special and Magnolia Cottage didn't disappoint. The house is beautiful, spacious and very well equipped with everything we needed, and the welcome cream tea was lovely! The location is perfect, a walk from the front but being in peaceful and beautiful Cockington. Thank you to Paula and Leon; we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2017
Hello Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to review us; always appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your special weekend and we look forward to seeing you again.

Paula & leon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lanscombe Cottage”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This one bed cottage has everything you could wish for, it is stunning. A private outside area with a patio table & a bench, it is ideal when the sun is out it's a sun trap, great for a relaxing holiday. I recommend this cottage, can't wait to go back,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2017
Dear Betty and David. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. So glad you were the first to experience Mallock House and so happy that you liked it. Thank you. Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing