We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rutland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rutland Lodge
Ranked #117 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose to stay at Rutland Lodge based on the favourable reviews left here by other guests, and were by no means disappointed. The location is perfect, within easy walking distance of the town centre and harbour, yet just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be relaxing, whilst the fashionable shops and cafes of Wellswood are only a stones throw in the opposite direction. There is car parking on-site, and also a frequent bus service which calls outside.

Tastefully finished to a high and consistent standard, the house itself is both light and spacious. The bedrooms are sizeable, and very well equipped - the super-comfortable beds a notable feature. Come the morning, the original conservatory, complete with vines, makes breakfast a real treat. As other guests have commented, Richard is the perfect host; on-hand to assist with any eventuality, yet never overbearing.

All in all, Rutland Lodge comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isle_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Me and my partner made a last minute booking for the bank holiday weekend on laterooms.com. And couldn't believe it when we arrived at the lodge, it is beautifully renovated. Lovely sized bedrooms, high ceilings etc perfectly decorated with that modern feel. Beds were so comfortable that we didn't want to get up in the morning, lol. And I think that was most possibly the best shower I have ever had. Perfect temperature and power. In the evening we enjoyed sitting in the lounge and having a glass of wine or out the back on one of the benches. Richard our host, was fantastic, made us feel really welcome, happy to give us advise on where to eat etc. And told us to help our selves in the fridge if we need any extra milk and said we could do as we please really! I know at some B and B's it can feel a bit clostriphobic or as if you are being watched. This is NOT the case here.... Richard lives next door, and doesn't make you feel like that whatsoever. Coffee machine on all day long for free use, lovely continental breakfast laid out In the morning. Town centre is literally a ten minute walk away, so basically all in all, perfect B and B, perfect location and perfect host :-) all at a great price! Absolutely no faults whatsoever! We are ao glad we came across this place and gave it a chance, and certainly can't wait to come back soon! Thank you for a lovely stay :-))

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria1965xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here in September with my husband and 2 month old baby and we had a fantastic holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for Richard, the house was beautifully done and a great location too, just a 10 minute walk from the harbour. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had a trip to Torquay for a wedding and booked into Rutland Lodge. Richard was a star. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was very friendly and approachable. The room (twin room) was beautiful. It was well decorated and very clean and airy. Bathroom was beautiful with a lovely bath although I found it very hard not to get water everywhere when using the shower attachment as there as no curtain. I did actually end up having a shower in an adjoining room that my daughter was staying in. I would definitely stay here again if down in Torquay.

Room Tip: If you prefer a shower you need to book a double room rather than the twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylou43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Chic, stylish and exceptionally comfortable. From the underfloor heating in the bathroom to the lovely linen and wonderful mattress we found that Rutland Lodge provided us with a peaceful and relaxing oasis during our busy visit to Torquay. As others have said Richard, the host, was very welcoming and did everything possible to make our stay so successful. We have stayed at several of the 'better' hotels in Torquay but Rutland Lodge beats them hands down for comfort and value.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JO J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Rutland lodge was in A GREAT LOCATION. Our room was spotless and the decor was really traditional yet modern. we loved the little garden as it had an intimate private feel. Richard was all you could ask for as a host too :) I would highly recommend Rutland lodge to anybody staying in Torquay, the building itsef is wonderful too

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olive h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Could not fault this B and B. Would definitely recommend. Had a sneaky look around at all the rooms (except the family room downstairs) and they are all kept to a similar high standard.

Room Tip: I would let Richard know beforehand if you have any specific requests. We asked for a room toward t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#105 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#101 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Lodge

Property: Rutland Lodge
Address: 448 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Rutland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Torquay
Rutland Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing