We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream holiday in the most beautiful guest house...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil T
1 review
“Dream holiday in the most beautiful guest house in idyllic surroundings.”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Me and my family, Liz, James and Jack had the pleasure to stay in this beautiful guest house for a week's holiday. Upon arrival after a 6 hour journey, we were met by Linda, one of the very friendly owners of the guest house, and we couldn't have been happier with our surroundings. The guest house is like a home from home with everything you could possibly need to hand. We didn't have to ask for anything for the whole week. A lovely hamper had been left for us with tea and coffee, scones and jam and marmalade, breads and granola, which was perfect after such a long journey.

The guest house was spotless, with a kitchen including a washer/dryer, dishwasher, oven, kettle, toaster and fridge freezer. It was spacious and bright throughout, with a private courtyard, beautiful bedrooms both with ensuite shower rooms, and beds to die for! (We slept like logs). We were made more than welcome to make use of the incredible sub tropical gardens and swimming pool, which my sons absolutely loved. Paul even spent time teaching my youngest son to have more confidence in the pool!
The gardens were absolutely incredible, you were literally surrounded by beautiful palm trees and flowers.

It was a pleasure to return to the White House after each busy day, and our only regret is that we only stayed for one week instead of two! We will most definitely be returning in the near future. Thanks Paul and Linda for helping to make our holiday so special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
It was great to meet you all. Paul spends so much time keeping the pool nice that its always lovely to have people use it & enjoy it . The boys swimming improved daily & that's always nice to see. Don't forget your cozy next time Liz !!! We look forward to your return journey !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flip_en_C...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We've had a fabulous stay at The White House. The owners, Paul and Linda, are very warm, welcoming and accomodating. The house is spacious, spotless and very well equipped. The kitchen has everything you could possibly ask for, large fridge, freezer, oven, microwave, dishwasher, plenty of kitchenware. The hamper, by the way, is a very nice touch! The 2 bedrooms each have comfy beds, tv and ensuite bathrooms providing for toiletries and towels. As the house is attached to the Cary Court, we could also make use of the lovely tropical garden, while the kids enjoyed their time in the heated swimming pool - and so they did every single day! The walk into town is just a few minutes down and yet the surroundings of the house are very tranquil. In short, if you're looking for a place to stay on the English Riviera, you will get great value for money at The White House!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Hi Filip & family, We hope that your trip home to Belgium went without a hitch. Many Thanks for your great review of The White House we are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves so much .& we look forward to welcoming you all back again next year . Regards, Linda & Paul .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds...
cotswolds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The White House, fabulous self catering accommodation”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A great holiday yet again at the fabulous Cary Court Hotel, but for a change I decided to try out the self catering accommodation. "The White House" I wasn't disappointed. The White House is an excellent, stylish, spotlessly clean well equipped house with everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. Staying at the White House also means you still get to use the hotel swimming pool and the comfy sun loungers to relax in the glorious tropical garden. As usual, a very friendly warm welcome from Linda and Paul, including a thoughtful tasty hamper! I just can't wait to come back later this year. I highly recommend The White House! Ten out of ten!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Hi, Its always nice to welcome guests back . You have stayed so many times with us at Cary Court that you feel like part of the family now.!! How great that you are now going to return this time to The White House. You visited whilst the renovations were happening last summer & now you have given the new accommodation a try.. So glad that it meets with your approval .!! Best Wishes Linda & Paul .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_jackie_j...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The location of the White House was superb, close to all amenities and beach.
Linda and Paul the owners are very friendly and welcoming,the lovely touch of the flowers and welcoming hamper was appreciated, the house was warm and welcoming, clean and comfortable, a real home from home, all our needs catered for, would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill B
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“" The White House " experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Cary Court before, but this time chose to use their self catering accomodation know as The White House, it has all the amenities you could possibly want a real home from home experience, tastefully decorated with its own free car parking bay immediately outside in the driveway. There was no restriction on the use of the swimming pool and decking areas plus gardens of the the main house ( upon asking Paul he would remove the protective pool cover ready for your swim ) The location of The White House is ideal for guests wanting a peaceful
holiday in beautiful surroundings. Well done Linda and Paul we award you 10/10

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaye-NewZ...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They've done it again!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cary Court B & B has been a favourite for many years. Paul and Linda are superb hosts. Their new venture of self catering accommodation was too tempting not to try. We were not dissapointed ! The two bedroom unit had plenty of room and delightfully furnished and decorated. The attention to detail is extraordinary. There is full use of the heated pool and of course those wonderful gardens that are such a draw on balmy summer evenings.
Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDavies43
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodation, walking distance to the centre of Torquay”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Cary Court hotel many times and this time we were lucky enough to stay in the new White House as a friend was joining us. Fabulous cottage with 2 bedrooms both with ensuite bathrooms. Large kitchen diner and lovely lounge. The kitchen is very well equipped. Paul & Linda are fabulous hosts and ensure you have everything you need for a very enjoyable stay. We will be back again next year. Thank you :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing