We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Thai Star Restaurant - CLOSED

Thai Star Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely place”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a good place to eat, the food is good, The staff are all really nice , they play relaxing music so the atmosphere is really nice, if you get to sit by the window you can watch the comings and goings in the harbour.

If you get the chance try the Thai pudding that is rice in coconut milk with mango, sorry, can't remember what it is called but I describe it as a hug in a bowl, it is so comforting! What more could you want?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    19
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Execllent food good value friendly”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with a group of 7 friends. The staff were incredibly friendly and let us try on all the Thai hats and crowns in the restaurant. Food was excellent and good value. No pressure to leave and we had a great evening

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joolsy284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great take away”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We only used as take away service but had eaten here a couple of years ago and enjoyed. It was a week night takeaway but we were impressed with the service (long enough to have cooked our meal but not ages). The food was lovely and complimentary prawn crackers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieS31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A good meal”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My first ever visit to a Thai restaurant and I was pleasantly surprised.

To start we had Prawn Crackers with both chilli and peanut sauce then the Thai Star mixed platter all of which was very tasty.

For main I had the Massaman curry which was flavoursome, but not hot like an Indian curry, however I did wonder whether the potatoes were from a tin.

Overall, good value tasty food with excellent service - I suspect if you're a Thai fan it is very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“delicious Thai food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A bit of a gem for some exotic food in Torbay. We were struggling to find vegetarian food in a fishing town (!) so Thai Star was a great place to eat for us

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellerUK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Star Restaurant also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing