We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will book again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summerlands Guest House
Ranked #74 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a brilliant little guest house run by owners who went above and beyond to ensure that our stay ran smoothly and was enjoyable. The guest house is ideally situated within the town and includes adequate parking for a small number of cars. We received a warm welcome from the owner who had a great deal of local knowledge. The room was spotlessly clean, tidy and comfortable with a good variety of beverages on the welcome tray. We didn't eat breakfast as we had already made plans to eat elsewhere but it smelt delicious! Overall, it was a great place to stay and we shall be booking again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Summerlands Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

The room was spotless. In fact I would say it was cleaner than some 5 star establishments I have frequented in the past. The breakfast was spot on, great variety and delicious. The owners were gracious and quick to respond to any requests. However, the bed was worn to the springs and as a result I spent the better part of a week afterwards in the chiropractors. This isn't hypersensitivity on my part, I've been camping for many years and slept out in the wilds for weeks at a time. All in all, absolutely delightful in every way but comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myfanwy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in May over the bank holiday weekend, as we were attending a wedding in Torquay. Four of us stayed in total and we had lovely rooms. Breakfast was lovely on both mornings and the owner is a very nice, friendly man.! All in all, great guest house.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank db19788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights over the Easter weekend with my wife. We really enjoyed our stay at the Summerlands. The room was nice, comfortable and more importantly, spotless. The breakfast was of the full English variety with a choice of cereals and toast and unlimited juice and coffee/tea.

It also had parking too, which was one of the deciding factors as we had driven down with a big suitcase and didn't fancy parking miles away. The owner and his wife were very friendly and was keen to strike up conversation and have a laugh with all guests at breakfast times, which in turn got us all talking to each other, which was nice as they were all nice people.

Finally, the price was very reasonable and most definitely excellent value for money, which I'm sure is a big factor these days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ash168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed as a large family group, 12 of us in total and had the whole B & B booked for the weekend. We arrived slightly early but there was no problem checking in. Being the first to arrive I was asked to select the rooms for the whole party of guests. After a bit of jiggling around we had this sorted when the rest of the family arrived. The rooms are not particularly big, but they are spotlessly clean and have little touches which you don't expect from a B&B, ie, handwash in the bathrooms, bottles of water and tissues. It was located right in the centre of Torquay and was a great location for access to the party venue where we were all attending, Applebys. The only downside is the lack of a 'lounge' area where we could all congregate. The weather fortunately was lovely and we could sit on the decking at the front of the B&B, but there were only 6 chairs so it was not practical for us all and we ended up often splitting up and some going back to their rooms. The beds were not of partiuclarly good quality and they had 'waterproof' coverings on both the mattresses and pillows which made for an uncomfortable sleep. Despite this I would still recommend this B&B. The breakfast was fresly cooked to order and was very nice. . It was good value for money and a great location, centrally in Torquay compared to other B&B's in the same area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeandipUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed for a night at the Summerlands. Staff was friendly, rooms were more than adequate, containing comfortable beds (with feather down pillows), tea & coffee, FREE wifi, TV and power-shower. (Please remember to switch the power on for the shower - had a cold one and didn't realise!). Breakfast was delicious, lots of juice/tea, coffee, etc. Guy who runs the hotel is friendly and nice.

Even left my Barbour jacket in the wardrobe and he's sending it to me! GREAT service!

Room Tip: Remember to switch on the power shower!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mm6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed with friends at Summerlands in April 2011.

Lovely Guest House and the Hosts Paul and Joy were fantastic. Given your own keys so that you can come and go as you please. Ample breakfast options for all.

Guest house is approx 10 mins walk into town or the harbour area

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the ground floor
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sugarplum67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Westbrook Guest House
Westbrook Guest House
#77 of 149 in Torquay
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lawnswood Guest House
The Lawnswood Guest House
#90 of 149 in Torquay
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#20 of 149 in Torquay
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#29 of 149 in Torquay
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#32 of 149 in Torquay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerlands Guest House

Address: 19 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $66 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Summerlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerlands Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing