We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, lovely hosts”
Review of Tor Dean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tor Dean
Ranked #47 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

You are assured of a very warm welcome when you arrive at the Tor Dean. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable & the meals are excellent with a good choice on the menu.
Nicola & Dave are great hosts, so friendly and helpful that nothing is too much trouble for them, whether it is information on local events, places to visit or a specific requirement that you may have. Thank you for making our stays so enjoyable, we are already looking forward to our next visit,
Judith & Ralph

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Manager at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Well what can I say !!!! Four visits in one year, it is however always a pleasure to have you stay. You are a truly lovely couple and we hope all your dreams come true. We know you will return and look forward to it already.

Love and Best wishes

Nicola & David xxxxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Tor Dean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose to stay here after reading all the glowing reviews here and we were not disappointed. On arrival we were given a warm cheerful welcome by the exceedingly lovely owners, David and Nicola. We stayed in the double en suite room which was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was delicious and filling with David making sure you never ran out of tea and toast!

All in all it was a real pleasure staying there and we will return.

On a final note, a special big thank you to our hosts for catering for us vegans. It's special touches like that which makes a truly fantastic stay.

Steve and Jennifer

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you Jennifer and Steve for your lovely review, it was a pleasure meeting you both and your diet for us was no issue. You were thinking of returning next June for your anniversary and if so will be made very welcome.
Love to you both
Nicola & David xxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hosts Dave and Nicola 'love what they do' and this shows through in their efforts to please. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms spacious, well furnished and immaculately cleaned every day. Food is 'traditional English' and well prepared and served in generous portions. You are only a short time in the hotel until Dave and Nicola make you feel it is 'home from home'.
You can be sure of an excellent base for your holiday at Tor Dean.

Room Tip: We had a lovely family room but understand the other rooms to be of an equally high standard.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERTCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you Bobbie and Barbara for your lovely kind words. What a pleasure to look after two wonderful people. You are right, we do love our work, we love to welcome guests into our hotel and they all very soon feel at home.We hope the drive back to Inverness was not to painful for you and wish you both all the very best.
Nicola & David xxxxxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay at Tor Dean and I was attracted by the discount for people over 50. The location of the Hotel is close to a bus route or you can walk into Torquay which is about 15 minutes. The food is very good and I found Nicola and David very pleasant , I especially enjoyed the sun deck where I was able to sit out in the sun and just chill out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you Richard for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you and even though you did not travel far, we are pleased you went home relaxed. You know you are more than welcome to return and we wish you all the best. Enjoy the last few days of sunshine.
Nicola & David xxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Tor Dean is a wonderful, friendly hotel. We have stayed here on a number of occasions and have never had reason to complain. The food is fresh , well cooked and varied. The Owners personally look after the guests and make meal times interesting for all guests by "breaking the ice" for some of the less extrovert/outgoing guests. They are helpful in suggesting places to visit, events on during your stay and other activities that might be of interest. The rooms are spacious and well lappointed. Parking is a little limited but space for the overspill outside the property. It is not too far from local pubs/Restaurants but far enough for them not to disturb your sleep. We have enjoyed every visit come rain or shine. Will go again I'm sure

Room Tip: Ground floor Double, No 3 is just perfect. A little noisy being close to the Kitchen but only aroun...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montygomerydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you David and June for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us once again. You have been coming to visit us for so many years now we seem to be growing older together !! Love to you both and we will see you next year.
Nicola & David xxxxxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

First time back in Torquay after 40 years, Booked in at Tor Dean at short notice, Nothing was too much trouble, from the welcoming cup of tea, to all the guides, maps and directions provided by Dave and Nicola. The room was excellent, comfortable and spotless. The breakfast choice catered for all tastes and was first class every day. We would highly recommend this hotel to stay in. Thanks Dave and Nicola, we will return. Mike and Jan.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 390Mike_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you Mike and Jan for your lovely kind words. It was a pleasure for us to meet you for the first time and to welcome you into our home. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and you know you will be more than welcome to return. Enjoy what is left of the summer and we hope to see you next year.
Nicola & David xxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thank you Nicola and Dave for an enjoyable stay and making us feel so very welcome. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean . The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice, nothing was ever too much trouble . We only wish it could have been for longer.

Kim and Mike

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you Kim and Mike for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to welcome new guests and you were no exception. We had a great week the week with all our guests that week , most were returning guests , even so the newies fitted in nicely. Enjoy what is left of the summer and we will see you next year.
Thank you once again
Nicola & David xxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 87 in Torquay
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#25 of 149 in Torquay
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#79 of 149 in Torquay
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#4 of 149 in Torquay
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#15 of 149 in Torquay
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Dean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Dean

Address: 27 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Dean 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tor Dean Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing