We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spotless cheerfull nothing too much trouble”
Review of Tor Dean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tor Dean
Ranked #46 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

have been going to tor dean for 10yr first with wife and chidren now just me and the wife
service is always excellent hotel is spotless and completely non smoking dave and Nicola are always cheerfull and nothing is too much trouble food is lovely sound too good to be true ?
hows this I have just come back after 5 days alone going back july with the wife and again in sep rem the proof of the pudding is in the eating !!! go try it

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent and ensuite and noise is minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you Ivor for your lovely kind words. It is always a pleasure to have you stay and we are looking forward to seeing Joan again in July. Thank you so much for the chocolates and flowers they were gratefully received.
See you soon

Nicola & David xxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 296 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned fro a 1 week stay at the Tor Dean Hotel and must say that our hosts, Dave & Nicola gave a first class service during our stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well appointed, and the service is very friendly & supplied with a nice sence of humour. Any request for information is readily given. All meals are good and the morning breakfast sets you up for the day. We have no complaints at all and would reccomend this hotel to anyone. Mike & Val.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you Mike and Val for your lovely review. It was so kind and thoughtful of you to think of us on your return. It was a pleasure to look after you both and we wish you all the very best.
Lots of Love
Nicola & David xxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Thanks Dave & Nicola for an excellent stay,your hotel is a credit to you both.
The service,cleanliness,food & humour was impeccable!
Would not hesistate booking here again when in Torquay next
Look forward to staying with you again soon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Oh Margaret what a joy to meet you, we always have a lovely time with Roy and Marlene and it was extra special this time to meet you. We know you will return and llok forward to seeing you again. Enjoy the sunshine

Nicola & David xxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for two days to visit Becky falls and Haytoor. The service was really good. We had nice breakfast and a decent clean place to stay. Well organised. Will stay here on our next trip for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fazilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you all and looking after you over the Bank Holiday. We know you will be back and look forward to meeting you again. Enjoy the summer.
Nicola & David xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Thank you Dave and Nicola for a wonderful stay at your immaculate hotel! You guys are fantastic hosts and we were made to feel extremely welcome and comfortable. Dave, you are amazing with all the information you have about Torquay and surrounding areas and some! We loved the fantastic and tastefully furnished room we stayed in and the incredible comfortable beds! From the cup of tea made for us on arrival by Nicola who is so warm and friendly, to the time of departure, we felt at home! We attend conferences every year in Torquay and will most definitely be choosing to stay with you again! We will also be recommending Tor Dean Hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you Teresa and Keith for your lovely kind words and for allowing us to look after you for your five day break. It was lovley to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Thank you once again
Nicola & David xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were welcombed by a lovely smiling Nicola Friday pm with a welcome coffee, and given room no 4 this was excellent, clean, tidy and immaculate and very quiet, with coffee and tea making tray well stocked. Met Dave next morning when he served us breakfast, this guys got a great sense of humour and gave us some laughs.This stay was given to us by a relation who stays here regularly and we can see why. Great place with nice people there is nothing better in Torquay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVAN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you Dave and Ann for your review. It was so nice to meet even more of the Groves family, you are all a delight and it's a pleasure for us to look after you. We hope to see you soon and say hello to Sylvia for us.
See you soon and enjoy the summer
Nicola & David xxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had booked this holiday at the last minute, and from my first encounter over the phone, to my last day, I was made to feel welcome. I was picked up from the train station (and taken back at the end of the holiday), made a cup of tea on arrival, and this high standard continued throughout. Every day I was offered things to make my trips better, from bus timetables, to a map of a guided walk, and Dave even lent me his binoculars! Nicola and Dave were lovely, friendly, and chatty, and went out of their way to make me feel welcome. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable, and cosy, with a lovely bed, en suite, and little homey touches. Lots of variety for breakfast too! Would definitely recommend this lovely guesthouse to everyone, the hosts Nicola and Dave are so friendly, helpful and welcoming, and really go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieWelly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you Ellie for your wonderful review. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you and to take care of you for the duration of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Take Care and Good Luck with your new job.
Nicola & David xxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount Edgcombe
Mount Edgcombe
#13 of 149 in Torquay
461 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Dean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Dean

Address: 27 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Dean 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tor Dean Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing