We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tor Dean
Nearby Hotels
The Marstan(Torquay)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westgate(Torquay)
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$402
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
279
15
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
15
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe home cooked foodfirst classhome from homeon arrivalplaces to visitlovely holidaygreat hostsnothing is too much troubleour room was spotlessly cleanwarm welcomefeel very welcomebreakfast and evening mealwould recommend this hotel to anyonesecond to nonehigh standardfull englishmini break
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 298 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Tor Dean is a lovely place to stay, its in walking distance to the beach and shops. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the food is excellent with a good choice on the menu. Nicola and David are a friendly and welcoming couple who make you feel at home.
These are some of the reason why we keep coming back year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you to Annabelle, Fred & Barbara for your review. It is always a pleasure to accommodate your Gran & Grandad and of course yourself. We think that must have been your grandparents 11th visit to The Tor Dean and we know they will be back next year, hopefully you can join them again. Love to you all, thank you once again and enjoy the rest of the summer.
Nicola & David xxxxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

It is easy to see why so many people come back to the Tor Dean time after time. Nicola and David have a passion for making your holiday the best they can.
We love the friendly atmosphere, the spotless rooms, and the great food. Thats some of the reasons why we keep coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you so much Linda and Phil for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to look after you . It was a great week when you you were here, all the rooms were full with guests who had all stayed before, a lot even recognising each other. As owners we cannot ask for more it was such a good week. Enjoy the rest of the summer and we know you will be back next year.
Love Nicola & David xxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Tor Dean is a lovely place to stay, truly a home from home, wonderful food, spotlessly clean, and two amazingly friendly people in Nicola and David.
We didnt want our holiday to end, not just because Torquay is a lovely place to holiday but also because Tor Dean is a lovely place to stay.Its ideally situated, as the seafront is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you Becky and Graham for your review. It was great to accommodate you both for the second time this year and we look forward to many more visits. Don't forget we want an invite to your wedding, I will start to look for my hat. You make a lovely couple and you have a lovely future together to look forward too. Thank you once again
Nicola & David xxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

At Tor Dean we have the answer to our English holidays. Here we have found a companionship and enjoyment which will bring us back for many years to come. Our hosts Nicola and David take delight in keeping you entertained and well fed. The standard of cleanliness and comfort is always second to none and anyone wishing to be certain of their choice, this is it. Thank you Nicola and David, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank civiljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Edith & Harold, what a delight to be able to accommodate couples as wonderful as you two are. We thought we were fortunate to meet you last september, but to be given the opportunity to look after you both again was brilliant. We have no doubt at all that we will see you both again, maybe september if not next year. Enjoy the rest of the summer and keep smiling
Nicola & David xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We are staying there at the moment for 7 nights and everything about our stay is excellent. David and Nicola are lovely people. The food is excellent we are stuffed every night as well as breakfast which lasts us all day. The location is just right for a walk into town or down to the sea front. The rooms are bright and very clean. Will be back in Sept for a couple of days if we can get in.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChorleyCraftqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you so much Jeanette and Tony for your lovely review. You have beaten all records in writing a review before you go home. What a delight it was to read it and then serve you Evening meal. We are so pleased you are enjoying your stay with us and it would be lovely to see you both again in September. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and see you at breakfast if not in the bar for a cheeky beer .
Nicola & David xxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews