We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peter and Jeanette”
Review of Tor Dean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tor Dean
Ranked #37 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
BURY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peter and Jeanette”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a lovely time with David and Nicola. We were treated more like family than guests. Jeanette was recovering from a very severe attack of sciatica and they could not do enough to help us.We would certainly recommend the Hotel and hope to return again .The food was excellent the rooms very comfortable and clean.Thank you David and Nicola for making our week with you so good under the circumstances.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutesmelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you Peter & Jeanette. It was lovely to meet you both we too had a great time with both of you.
Hope your back is improving Jeanette and we hope to see you both soon.
Nicola & David xxxxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
129
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Nicola and David treat you more like family than guest, the food is superb with a great selection all of which is home cooked. The guest house is very clean and the rooms are very spacious.
If you need to know about any attractions or where to go then David and Nicola are only to ready to help with useful information and tips on where is good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnandgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you Gerry and Shawn for your review. We really enjoyed your company and did have a good laugh with you all. Enjoy the summer weather now it has arrived and give our love to Pat & Bill
Enjoy America next year and we will see you the year after.

Love Nicola & David xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2012

a fantastic hotel, first class accommodation, warm and friendly atmosphere, were made to feel very welcome. would definitely stay again.
could not fault a thing.
look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola N, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you Clare for your review. It was great meeting Nigel again and meeting you for the first time. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and Nigel said he will bring you again because you were well behaved !! Have a great summer and good luck to Nigel.
See you both soon

Nicola & David xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had an excellent short break at the Tor Dean. Right from the initial phone call to book the accomodation, Nicola was very friendly and helpful. Both she and David were great hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they always had time to talk to you giving lots of information about the area. We were treated to a cup of tea on our arrival as we filled in the registration form. The room was a good size and spotlessly clean, there was a well equiped hospitaly tray.
The breakfast and 3 course evening meals were excellent and plentyful. Tor Dean will be our first phone call on our next visit toTorquay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefairway, Manager at Tor Dean, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you Nicky for your lovely kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and take care of you for four days. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future. Have a great summer , give our love to Janet and take care.
Nicola & David xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

An excellent hotel. I was on the same trip as Richard who has written lots so I won't duplicate his efforts. Can't comment on value as not paying, otherwise everything excellent. Friendliness a big factor in its favour if you are an outgoing sort of person. Gorgeous sitting-room.
Only one suggestion - fish on offer for breakfast would be a very welcome addition (as well as the excellent good-quality salmon with scrambled egg.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you Val for your review. We had a lovely few days with the NUT'S and look forward to welcoming you all again. You did mention Hot Fish for Breakfast , just to clarify ,with the position of the kitchen in relation to the stairway to the first floor ,the smell tended to hang around for most of the day. Some guests commented on this and we decided to leave it at smoked salmon. We had a visit from our hotel inspector the week before you arrived and we were awarded a breakfast award and a silver award. For the breakfast award you have to score 100%, the inspector commented on the use of high quality locally sourced ingredients used in the breakfast with ample choice.

Nicola & David xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our stay at the Tordean was very enjoyable, it is by far the cleanest and friendliest we have ever stayed in, and Nicola and David are the nicest of people , very funny geniune people , we go back to visit when we can and have become friends. The hotel is in an ideal location, within walking distance of the beach and shops. I love the little jokes that David provides on a daily basis, always with a big smile , Would recommend this hotel to both couples and families, nothing is too much trouble, Thanks for looking after my mum last year !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you Wendy and co for your review. It's always a pleasure having you here to stay , we all have such good fun. See you later in the year and enjoy the summer. xxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I booked 4 rooms at the Tor Dean Hotel over the Easter Weekend. Myself and my colleagues were delegates at the National Union of Teachers Conference at the Riviera International Centre.
In October last year I spoke to Nicola about vegan catering. One of the conference delegates was a vegan and another vegetarian. Nicola told me she had catered for celiacs in the past so I was confident of the catering arrangements.
We all had a great 5 days at the Tor Dean Hotel. My partner and I had a huge King-sized bed and a great room. David and Nicola are excellent hosts. When we arrived by train they were disappointed that we had not rung them from the station. Even when leaving David offered to drop our cases at the conference centre. The hotel is very close to the Riviera International Centre.
All the guests in our booking were very happy with breakfast at the hotel. The hotel is clean and spotless. David and Nicola are good at suggesting local places to visit and eat in. We would stay here again if the NUT uses the Riviera Centre in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you Richard for your kind words. It was a lovely to meet you all and a pleasure for us to look after you for five days. We hope to see you again in the future, have a great summer and thank you once again for choosing us.
Nicola & David xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#23 of 149 in Torquay
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Daylesford
The Daylesford
#71 of 149 in Torquay
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#4 of 149 in Torquay
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 149 in Torquay
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Dean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Dean

Property: Tor Dean
Address: 27 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Dean 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tor Dean Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing