We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and Contemporary”
Review of Briarfields

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Briarfields
Ranked #37 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2010

A wonderful welcome and excellent accommodation. All very new, very clean and very chic. Good choice and quality of breakfast. Ideal location for walking into Torquay, and as a base for exploring South Devon. Pete and Trish are excellent hosts. We look forward to returning very soon

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayBee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 505 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

my husband and i stayed for three days and could not rate this bed and breakfast highly enough.. the accomodation was spotlessly clean... the owners very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.. we had a good hearty breakfast to start the day off, which was selected from a menu with several options available.. on returning back to torquay this will be the place we will choose to stay at again..the room had a very modern decor ,included fridge, tv/dvd player and lovely onsuite, tea/coffee facilities...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galaxygirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Really nicely renovated hotel, it was easy to park/find and was a welcome place to stay after a long day, good cooked breakfast in the morning and helpful hosts

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve1976_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

After 12 hours with a much loved but quite stressful pair of elderly relatives, Briarfields was a relaxing haven of peace with a welcoming host who took the trouble to explain how everything worked in the room. Even better was to get directions to the nearest wine bar about 500 yards away and a key to get back in to the building. Next day breakfast was fulfilling with friendly service and advice on sight seeing.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We felt welcome from arrival to departure. We even had a special treat with cakes left in the fridge to have with a cup of tea - nice. We had a suite which we found spacious and very comfortable. Cleanliness throughout was to a very high standard. We arrived as guests and left as friends. WILL BE RETURNING.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivestevens05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights in October. We chose Briarfields on the strength of previous TripAdvisor reviews which proved to be spot on.
Upon arrival Peter welcomed us with a pot of fresh tea & then showed us to our rooms.
We had chosen a suite with a separate sitting area where we could use the TV/DVD or make use of the free WiFi.
Everything was new, clean & tidy from the bedding to the carpets. We could get lost in the bed as it was much larger than the one we use at home!
Breakfasts are served from 8.30 to 9.30am & are first class.
Parking is available at the front of the building but could be a bit tight if all the rooms are occupied.
The Briarfields is around 20 minutes walk from the quayside in Torquay but it is a pleasant stroll!
Torquay is a good base to see the National Trust properties at Castle Drogo, Greenways, Coleton Fishacre plus miles of coastal walks.
A great place to stay! Well done Trish & Peter.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatThePin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Briarfields was a very lucky find having called two other 5* B and B we were given their name, Peter and Trish new owners have recently re-opened after a complete refurb, decor of an extremely high standard contemporary clean modern lines no fussy pink frilly bits!! and sparkling clean, fabulous breakfast. Our room was the executive suite which includes sitting room and big 6'6 bed. Shower was big and powerful.
Great hosts warm and friendly everything you needed and more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidjo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
6.5 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
0.1 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#15 of 150 in Torquay
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#19 of 150 in Torquay
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#27 of 150 in Torquay
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields

Address: 84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $111 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarfields 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Briarfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Torquay
Briarfields Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing